Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I've made this two years in a row to outstanding reviews. I also rub the outside with crushed coriander and it adds something extra special. The gravy made from the juices has such a nice sweetness. I actually used Williams Sonoma's starter and just added the drippings this year and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used this recipe this year for my first Thanksgiving dinner ever. As you can imagine, I was pretty nervous! The turkey turned out wonderfully. I do have a few pointers for any novices out there like me - definitely make the Maple herb butter the night before to make the next day that much easier, "marjoram" is a plant and I went to the grocery store and found it in the spices and used that (it worked great). Also, when you first place the turkey in the oven on 375 for 30 minutes, make sure to keep an eye on it. The baste cooked very quickly on top of the skin and burnt, I just wasn't paying attention. It didn't matter at all since you cut the skin off before you serve it anyway, but if you are concerned about presentation then keep an eye on it. I do HIGHLY recommend using the gravy recipe included, the flavor was incredible and tastes great on the leftover sandwiches as a spread!! The entire process was pretty simple and easy to follow, and the end result was that I may be doing Thanksgiving for everyone for the rest of my life!!! Thanks so much, Lipo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This turkey turned out fairly well for my first turkey. It was definately the most tender turkey I have ever eaten. One of my relatives who loves turkey said it had a great flavor; However, to me it was still bland turkey. The gravy had quite a different flavor, but was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Moist and wonderful turkey, and the left over maple herb butter isn't at all necessary for exquisite gravy. This has now been THE Thanksgiving turkey on BOTH sides of my family for 3 years and counting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
The butter in this recipe is DIVINE. I loved the taste of the lemon, which blended so perfectly with the marjoram. I placed my turkey in a maple brine 24 hours prior to roasting, and the roasted the turkey upside down until the last hour. Juices just poured out when I finally got to cut into our masterpiece. Thank you so much for this recipe, I think it will be used for many holidays to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was my first time cooking a turkey and I couldn't believe the results! My husband LOVED it! I couldn't believe that after cooking this turkey, it turned out tasting like something my mother would make; I was very impressed. The meat on the turkey turned out very tender and the gravy was sweet and delicious. I will definitely use this recipe again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is the second year I have used this recipe for Thankgiving. It is awesome! It is almost impossible to goof up, at least I have not been able to even if I forgot something or did it wrong. It still comes out YUMMY! I have used Apple Cider both years and I too have a liguid under the butter. I just use the apple butter as directed and then use some of the juice too. I baste often and have always had enough pan juices for gravy and never need to add more broth. The gravy is wonderful. I'm going to try this on a whole chicken too. Thank you for this recipe! *** I want to add. I am making this recipe again this year, my original review was in 2002. Last night I made my maple butter. I let it cook and reduce for over an hour. This morning it is all solid butter. I think the key is in the time you allow the cider/syrup mixture cook. I don't think I'll be using the Apple Brandy this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I guess even I couldn't screw this recipe up! Using apple cider seemed to work fine - my first Thanksgiving turkey was a huge success! It was totally awesome! and the gravy was SO delicious! I will be using this again for sure! Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
The turkey tastes great! It's obviously not a quick recipe, because turkey takes forever to cook, but it's easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This turkey is simply magnificent. I served it with the Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing and created a terrific feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States