Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I cooked Thanksgiving this year for my very first time and my mom said it was the best turkey she's ever had and she WAS a firm believer in cooking bags until today. I didn't have the apple brandy so I just did without it. I cannot believe how moist it was!!! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made my first turkey followed the recipe to a T, it was good but not enough.. The second I doubled everything except the apple cider (3 cups instead of two) and for the fresh thyme and marjoram put half in the bird and sprinkle half all around it, I used a whole lemon all the skin and squeezed it too :) I also buttered my bird a lot lol if you lift the skin on the top, the breast(without ripping, because you have to pull it back over) stuff and rub butter inside under the skin (real butter) wow so tender n juicy and dont forget baste your turkey every 20 min!! set a timer, pain in the butt but well worth it in the end. also I found it is unnecessary to roast for 30 min before you cover.. do that at the end ( uncovered turkey needs basting every 10 min) Do not over cook, follow instruction on turkey weight=time and and check internal temp. I had a lot of complements, I also made the gravy, I myself didn't like it but my guests did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I prepared this turkey but did not add the chicken broth... it caramelizes very well with apple cider and maple syrup reduction. It turned out very juicy and nice and golden glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
There are a couple other recipes that are exactly like this one except a few small variances. I chose to go by this recipe since my turkey was closer to a 12 pounder. I have to first off say that this was my first time making a turkey. Between the flavorful marinade in this recipe, brining the turkey, and the way I cooked it (breast side down and no foil), this was the most moist and flavorful turkey I have ever eaten anywhere! I pretty much went by the ingredients exactly except I didn't use brandy and I only had margarine instead of butter. Next time I will make sure to use butter because the sauce didn't set up to well and was a little liquid-y, so when rubbing on the turkey it wanted to drip off. I also made a solution of apple cider and maple syrup, boiled it down, and used a flavor injector to inject a little more flavor into the meat. I dont think it was really necessary but I thought what the hay, more flavor is always good! Next time I wont do that though, because between that and the butter mixture, the gravy was a little sweeter than it should of been. But it was still excellent! Thanks for this great flavorful recipe! When I have the chance at making a turkey again I will for sure use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Years ago I used this recipe for the first turkey I ever cooked and it came out beautifully! In the years since, I have made slight alterations like apple juice instead of apple cider and I use it as a brine. Every year it is a HUGE hit with the family and now I am the designated cook for Thanksgiving. I highly recommend this recipe! It's delicious as is and can be tailored to suit your particular tastes. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made it this year, and it was BY FAR the best one yet.. I have been asked to make it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is the one recipe I always come back to, no matter what else I find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I made this in my crock pot. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Loved it. Going to make it again. The gravy was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is FABULOUS!!! I can't keep myself from the kitchen to grab "just another bite". The gravy is "to die for". This is a keeper and a recipe I'll pass down to my daughter ( but do I have to confess that it's not one of my own?). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States