Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
It is now Thanksgiving 2014 and I am still making this recipe. I make it every year. I have it down now to where I make the butter on the weekend and dress the Turkey on Monday night and let it marinate. DELICIOUS!!! Everyone loves it!! I made this recipe for the first time in 2001. It was delicious then and requested every year since!! This turkey is always a hit and leftovers make fabulous turkey soup..very flavorful! I usually vary the herbs a bit(fresh sage, tarragon, oregano, parsley, thyme and a little cilantro).One of the things I love is that while the reduction is reducing, I can prep the other foods on the menu. I usually make it accompanied by Green beans with crimini mushrooms and shallots recipe I got from food and wine Thanksgiving 2001 and cranberry sauce. This year I tried Killer Cranberry sauce I found on A/R. What a meal!!! Also...McCormick and Schmick's deep dish apple pie recipe is amazing!!! Happy Eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
To be honest I don't know what I did, but it turned out perfect...the juciest turkey my family has ever had (and we normally do pretty good). Anyway, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great tasting and juicy turkey. This is the best turkey I've ever made. I will definitely make this again next year. Next time I will boil the cider vinegar and maple mixture longer. I don't think I reduced the mixture as it was intended because when it cooled, there was liquid beneath the butter. This made it too tangy to use for the gravy, but that did not affect the flavor of the turkey itself. This was such a good recipe, I couldn't even mess it up! *Actually, I did mess it up!! I mistakenly used apple cider vineger instead of apple cider and it still turned out great. I was wondering why the gravy was so tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae Jane DeGuzman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
My husband made this turkey for Thanksgiving and it was the best turkey we have ever had!!! It was so tender and juicy we couldn't believe it!!! We did not make the gravy, but will do so next year for sure. This would be excellant for roasted chicken, too. Thank you so much for our new family turkey tradition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
So I had to make my first Thanksgiving Turkey for the in-laws... Now thanks to this recipe I have the full time gig. I guess that is good for the recipe. This recipe wasn't difficult but it takes time, I still give it a 5 Star for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Don't bother. I made this for Thanksgiving, and my family's comments were "you're not going to do something funny with the Turkey again, are you?" It was definately NOT a winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
My first turkey and it was a HIT!! The turkey was so tender with a hint of sweetness, and the gravy was scrumptious. Thumbs up from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I made this for Christmas and it turned out to be the best dish on the table. It's juicy, tender and unbelievable. I couldn't take credit for it because no one would believe if I told them it was my recipe. I applied the maple butter on the bird, wrapped in roasting bag with all the other stuff overnight before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This was my 1st Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out wonderful! It was so juicy and had a wonderful flavor. I didn't have any marjoram so i used sage and i also didn't have any apple cider, just added 1C of water and a Tbs. of brown sugar, worked great! Thanks for making my 1st Thanksgiving a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
The turkey came out so juicy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States