Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I got a lot of ribbing from friends about trying out an "internet" recipe for Thanksgiving, but I certainly had the last laugh! Everyone LOVED it! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETRN2B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving this year in hopes to impress our new German friends here in Germany that has never had an "American Thankgiving". They were very impressed and it the most moist turkey I have ever made. I am thinking of just having turkey more than once a year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made this recipe for Christmas last year for about 8 people, and I am still receiving compliments and still thinking about it! I would recommend this to anyone, and yes, the gravy will be sweet - but I loved it. Thanks Ibby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I just made this for Thanksgiving and everything tasted good except the gravy, which was very oily and runny. The vegetables that are cooked with the turkey soaked up the sweetness of the maple syrup / apple cider and were very tasty and moist. If I were to make this again, I probably will use a different gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is a delicious turkey recipe. My favorite is still Ma Lipo's turkey recipe though. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My first attempt at preparing the WHOLE Thanksgiving meal. What a success! The sweet maple flavor married beautifully with the comforting thymemarjoram - my house smelled wonderful for days! Being able to prepare butter portion of the recipe in advance helped a lot. I have returned the next year to repeat this amazing recipe!! Thank you so much to the contributor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Good recipe. This was a trial run last week for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. I had never thought of roasting the vegetables with the turkey. But, it makes perfect sense, and it worked very well. There was no problem with the maple butter separating. . . I think the key is making sure to cook the syrup/cider mixture for the full time (making sure it fully reduces). I removed the foil for the last 15 minutes (or so) of cooking, and this gave the bird the coveted red-brown, glistening skin. It was beautiful. The gravy that this recipe made wasn't a big hit. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think we can be sold on the sweetness, albeit slight. I may have to commit the unpardonable and serve store-bought. . . at any rate, I will definitely be using this recipe for Thanksgiving in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Delicious recipe. Made this with an 18-pound turkey, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I really had to tend to it. You need to ensure that foil is used the entire time and/or the heat reduced for all periods and the time lengthened. The skin was VERY dark, but not burnt. The butter underneath has both pros and cons in that it gives it the potential to burn, but also keeps it tender. The breast meat was extremely juicy and tender. Gravy was great...I love sweeter gravies with maple and the like, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I tried this recipe for christmas this year and it was wonderful. I have never had a turkey that was this moist in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
i try to do our thanksgiving turkey different every year and this year i chose this recipe coz i had previously tried it with chicken and it was great. i soaked the turkey in brine water overnight so i think that accounted for the very moist meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States