Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This turkey recipe was awesome. I used all the marinade for the turkey and forgot to reserve some, so I just made the gravy from a flour, butter, and the pan drippings and it was perfect. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I'm trying to figure out how this got to be a 5-star recipe. This turkey was very average. I honestly couldn't taste much of the apple/maple flavor in the finished product. This was quite a bit of work for such mediocre results. Definitely not the stunning results that I was hoping for. Guess I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was my first year making the bird. It came out great. Add more vegetables & cut them into larger chunks. I think I might add potatos next time. Using the amount of vegetables called for in the recipe, the 2 cups of stock were too much. At the end I had at least a gallon of drippings even after making the gravy! I'm going to use that to make a turkey soup. This bird will now be my flagship bird for years to come & next time I'll add the sausage, cranberry apple stuffing I've heard so much about. Oh the gravy only had a hint of sweetness to it, perfect for mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I make this every year and it is awesome every year. I've never had an issue with the bird coming out dry. It is always moist and flavorful. I always increase the herbs for my personal taste. I find that it makes the gravy at the end more flavorful as well. I also take some of the roasted vegetables from the pan and puree it and add it to the gravy. Haven't tried adding apple brandy to the gravy yet, but I will probably do that this year. To Linda that said 2 cups of apple cider vinegar is too much, it's because it's apple cider, not apple cider vinegar. Read the recipe before you rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The turkey turns out great, but I'm not a big fan of the sweet gravy. I also make it with the sausage, apple stuffing. They are an unbeatable pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWPEACH210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was my first turkey I made. I brined the turkey and then used this recipe. It was FANTASTIC. I forgot to save some of the butter for the gravy, and I made the gravy with a roux and it came out FABULOUS. It was the best gravy I ever had. Took the advice for the cranberry and apple sausage stuffing. My first Thanksgiving was a hit. Thank you for making it so easy. Sorry for not posting sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
One of the better turkeys I made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This turkey was awesome!!! enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was a delicious turkey. A nice change from the traditional flavor. I stuffed this with the "Awesome Sausage Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" from this site and this made the best Turkey and stuffing I've ever eaten. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was tremendous. The turkey turned out juicy and succulent. The only thing I did differently was to stuff a bulb of garlic and some sprigs of rosemary in the turkey cavity before roasting. The gravy was some of the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELTIC CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States