Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
FANTASTIC!!! ***10 STARS*** Everyone LOVED it, I have made it now four times! The suggested stuffing is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
i have never made a turkey before. i loved all the step-by-step directions of this recipe. BTW, the gravy was divine and i'm not sure i've ever tasted better gravy...and I MADE IT!!!! very excited for this recipe. i stuffed it with the cranberry, sausage stuffing (which i have never made before as well). really appreciate the recipes on this site to help me through...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 28Mustang

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
A different twist on the typical Roast Turkey. The taste was very good, the meat was extremely moist which was very nice. The important part of this recipe to definitely cook down the vinegar and syrup until it reaches the 1/2 cup or it will not solidify completely making it more liquidy than a butter consistency when you rub it under the skin and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunkyBoss

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was the best turkey we ever made! We did make a few little changes. I added brown sugar, cinnamon and maple flavored extract to the butter mixture. I used chopped apples,lemons and onion to stuff the turkey with and covered the outside of the bird with maple cured bacon. WOW!!!! Try this you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
2 cups of apple cider vinegar is way too much. The odor was so pungent that we had to open all of the windows. I would make it again but with much less of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was as easy a recipe as I have ever seen! The resulting turkey and gravy was outstanding!Thanks for a great Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Turkey turned out great and definitely make the gravy. it was SO good. I made a roux of flour and butter and just added the drained drippings to that. Everyone loved it. The carcass also made a fantastic turkey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
The gravy was delicious and the apple maple rub made the turkey tender and moist although I didn't taste it too much in the turkey itself. Be sure to cover the turkey with aluminum foil like the recipe says... I forgot and it burnt on top. The only change I made was to use 1 cup of apple juice instead of cider because I can't find apple cider here! (Quebec, Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Very tender, flavorful Turkey, Family loved it!! Tip: make the maple butter a week ahead & freeze it to save time. Thaw in fridge a day ahead. Yummy Turkey, Yummy Gravy! Thanks for the Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiveft2eyzblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great recipe! However I like to play around with things and found that a couple minor changes resulted in the best turkey I have ever eaten (my family agrees). The sweetness was a welcome change and especially great since my son and my husband both have a huge sweet tooth. I did add some brown sugar to the maple-butter glaze. Also, I had a large turkey injector left from thanksgiving and made my own injector butter mixture. I melted two sticks of butter, added 1/2C apple cider, 1/4C maple syrup and 1/4C brown sugar. heated over low-med heat until butter was melted and sugar was dissolved then injected all of the mixture into the turkey. Oh man, it was good! Oh, and for easy suffing, just buy the boxed stuff and chop up a sweet apple (i use gala) and thaw some frozen cranberries. Add the fruit to the stuffing when you prepare it, then stuff it all into the bird. So good, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States