Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
A Bit Too Sweet - the sugar in the make butter cashed skin to burn rather than crisp up and the gravy was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrOctober78
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is an amazing recipe and the gravy, well let's just say I can take or leave most gravy, with this stuff I got to have it on this turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used this recipe the past two Thanksgivings, and just finished the butter to use tomorrow morning! This recipe makes for an incredibly moist and tender bird. I have to agree with others that the butter mixture doesn't flavor the meat much. But those drippings make the best gravy ever!!! My husband talks about the gravy year round, so I've even made a version of it in the crockpot with a frozen turkey breast. I need to comment on a few other reviews. This recipe calls for apple cider, not apple cider vinegar. I think that might explain their results and therefore lower ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Best gravy I've ever had! This recipe is fantastic. I made the syrup/butter the night before and it remained pretty runny. The turkey stayed moist - I use an oven bag so the turkey itself was good but not noticeably more moist than normal. However the gravy was amazing and we all wanted to drink it!!! I didn't remove the veggies at the end, just some of the fat and made the gravy right in the roaster. Didn't add more thyme and forgot the bay leaf but it was still terrific. Loved the cooked vegetables in it. Also I chopped up one apple and the leftover lemon from zesting and put inside the turkey for some extra flavor. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Unique flavor but not odd or overpowering. excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have to first off say that this was my first time making a turkey. Between the flavorful marinade in this recipe, brining the turkey, and the way I cooked it (breast side down and no foil), this was the most moist and flavorful turkey I have ever eaten anywhere! I pretty much went by the ingredients exactly except I didn't use brandy and I only had margarine instead of butter. Next time I will make sure to use butter because the sauce didn't set up to well and was a little liquid-y, so when rubbing on the turkey it wanted to drip off. I also made a solution of apple cider and maple syrup, boiled it down, and used a flavor injector to inject a little more flavor into the meat. I dont think it was really necessary but I thought what the hay, more flavor is always good! Next time I wont do that though, because between that and the butter mixture, the gravy was a little sweeter than it should of been. But it was still excellent! Thanks for this great flavorful recipe! When I have the chance at making a turkey again I will for sure use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I loved this recipe! We used an injector to get more of the flavor in and baked it in a turkey bag. It was so moist and the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It was awsome! Best turkey I ever had hands down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
made me a thanksgiving GODDESS lol and it was so beautiful. Just be careful. . .chopped lemon rind is not the same as lemon zest lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fieemully

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was my first time making thanksgiving dinner & I decided to try this recipe for all the great reviews! The only changes I made was not using thyme & marjoram instead using a little salt, pepper & garlic powder. I also had to add a can of beer over the turkey (my mom always does this no matter what recipe she uses & it makes the bird tender) I used Sam Adam Oktoberfest, & I'm glad I added it cause I wouldn't of had anywhere close enough drippings to make gravy! I stuffed the turkey with all the veggies including the lemon, why waste it only for the peel?!! And also put some garlic heads in there! We didn't eat the veggies but rather just used them for flavoring the drippings. Very good turkey :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States