Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great recipe! However I like to play around with things and found that a couple minor changes resulted in the best turkey I have ever eaten (my family agrees). The sweetness was a welcome change and especially great since my son and my husband both have a huge sweet tooth. I did add some brown sugar to the maple-butter glaze. Also, I had a large turkey injector left from thanksgiving and made my own injector butter mixture. I melted two sticks of butter, added 1/2C apple cider, 1/4C maple syrup and 1/4C brown sugar. heated over low-med heat until butter was melted and sugar was dissolved then injected all of the mixture into the turkey. Oh man, it was good! Oh, and for easy suffing, just buy the boxed stuff and chop up a sweet apple (i use gala) and thaw some frozen cranberries. Add the fruit to the stuffing when you prepare it, then stuff it all into the bird. So good, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This is by far, the absolute best turkey recipe I have ever made! Everyone loved it for Thanksgiving! I used a little more maple syrup, but it didn't throw anything off. Gravy is to die for!!! The best I've ever had! I've never known a turkey to come out so juicy and perfect! Even stuffy friends who would've rathered "went out for Thanksgiving" (hey! we live in NYC, whadda ya want?) were thoroughly delighted and impressed! I highly suggest to anyone who plans on making a turkey for the holidays to make this! Bon Appeite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was a delicious turkey. A nice change from the traditional flavor. I stuffed this with the "Awesome Sausage Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" from this site and this made the best Turkey and stuffing I've ever eaten. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is an amazing recipe. I brined my turkey first then used the apple/maple/butter from this recipe to smother it in before putting in the oven. BTW, for those not living in USA apple cider is apple juice NOT apple cider vinegar! I didn't put veges in tray with turkey but did use the liquid at the end of cooking to make gravy - so delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was tremendous. The turkey turned out juicy and succulent. The only thing I did differently was to stuff a bulb of garlic and some sprigs of rosemary in the turkey cavity before roasting. The gravy was some of the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELTIC CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was my first year making the bird. It came out great. Add more vegetables & cut them into larger chunks. I think I might add potatos next time. Using the amount of vegetables called for in the recipe, the 2 cups of stock were too much. At the end I had at least a gallon of drippings even after making the gravy! I'm going to use that to make a turkey soup. This bird will now be my flagship bird for years to come & next time I'll add the sausage, cranberry apple stuffing I've heard so much about. Oh the gravy only had a hint of sweetness to it, perfect for mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Amazing gravy comes from this. Followed directions exactly except used apple juice instead of apple cider. I added a cinnamon stick and some cloves to the apple juice/maple syrup and it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Perfect! What a great flavor!!! I ran out of maple syrup so I used artificial maple flavoring and it worked great. I also added bacon dripping to my stuffing it was an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was the best turkey we ever made! We did make a few little changes. I added brown sugar, cinnamon and maple flavored extract to the butter mixture. I used chopped apples,lemons and onion to stuff the turkey with and covered the outside of the bird with maple cured bacon. WOW!!!! Try this you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This turkey turned out great. It was moist and the mixture you baste with is good. The only problem I had was with the veggies you put beside the turkey in the roaster--they dried out, as did the stock I put in with them. I had to throw it all out. Fortunately, I was able to use the rest of the marinade in my turkey gravy and it was the best gravy I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States