Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I have made this recipe twice and its wonderful. I corsely chop the veggies that go under the turkey and then save them along with about half the dripping *before making the gravy* and use them for turkey noodle soup with the leftover turkey. The first time I made this, my family kind of turned their noses up, until they tasted it. Now they request this turkey instead of the traditional one we used to make :) Thanks Ibby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I took a chance and tried this for Thanksgiving, a gigantic leap for somebody like me who grew up with butter-only glaze. But I was so wonderfully rewarded with the most perfect turkey I’ve ever made. It’s sweet, but not too sweet, and it really melts in your mouth. And it beautifully roasts your turkey to a Hollywood Thanksgiving Turkey golden color that almost makes you feel guilty eating it. The gravy… Oh, so tasty. It goes great on the turkey, great on mashed potatoes, great sopped up with biscuits, pretty much a wonderful compliment to all of your Thanksgiving sides. And this makes the most unbelievable stock. Team this turkey with mixed bread sage sausage stuffing (find the sage sausage by Jimmy Dean), a shot of white wine, and you’ll amaze your family with the fantastic meal you’ve put together. Here are some basic tips for Thanksgiving turkey though… It seems that not everybody on this board has been introduced to the wonder that is Oven Bags. I promise you, this recipe in an Oven Roaster Bag, and you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven. It browns your turkey perfectly, and is much easier than foil. Cut up 2 onions and throw them in the bag, sprinkle about a tablespoon of flour in the bag and shake until the onions are well coated… Put in the turkey and this sauce. Cut some slits in the bag, throw it in the oven, and every 30 – 40 minutes, stick a baster in one of the slits and coat the turkey. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
i'd give this high marks for looking good, and staying moist, but lower ones for taste. All the "extra's " kind of take points away from the healthiness of a turkey. Makes great stock, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I brined the turkey before i baked it... but otherwise i followed the recipe fairly closely. (only gave it four stars because if brining directions had been included it would be even better =D) The turkey was very good, flavorful. The gravey was also very good. DO remember the foil...I had forgotten until AFTER the bird had been a bit burned. Still tasted pretty good though =) Would definately recomend this recipe. My other friend made it once and it was FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
A classic. The whole family loves it. We've made it that past two Thanksgivings and it's been outstanding each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I made my Thanksgiving turkey with this recipe this year. The recipe for the maple butter was plenty to cook my 20 pound bird. The taste was sweet, but not overpoweringly maple. It received rave reviews from all of my guests, all who said it was the best turkey they'd gotten to eat! My maple gravy came out a bit too fatty, but cooling it in the fridge and skimming it made it perfect for potatoes, next-day sandwiches, and everything in between. The carcass also produced a very nice flavored stock for soups and stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was a delightful new flavor for our Thanksgiving turkey. The meat came out juicy, sweet, and tender. Just be sure to cover the bird in tinfoil while in the oven - the added sugars can scald the surface. We found making a tent out of the foil we extremely helpful and kept the bird succulant! Brilliant! Deserving of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
when i cooked this for thanksgiving 2004, it was the first time i ever heard nothing said at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I must start off by saying that I HATE turkey. Simply hate it for one reason...I have never tasted a turkey that wasn't so dry! Until now!!! I changed the recipe a bit to fit my needs. I omitted the lemon zest all together and doubled everything else that I would have plenty for lots of gravy( expecting the turkey to taste dry!) I also added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar to sweeten the mixture. I made the mixture the day before thanksgiving and stuck it in the frig. The morning of, I took it out and allowed it to reach room temp. When it came time to prep the turkey, I added 3/4 cup under the skin. Cooked the turkey 30 min as directed and then brushed on 1 cup of the mixture before lowering the temp and finishing cooking. The roasting pan I have has a cover so I didn't cover with foil. When we removed the turkey it looked like something out of a magazine! I have never seen a more beautiful turkey! Golden brown despite it being covered and not basting. Every bit of the turkey was soooo moist. Not one piece was dry. Everyone loved it and I can honestly say this is the first year ever we actually ate left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Good but not great, although very moist. I didn't make the gravy so this may account for the lack of amazing taste. A bit too much lemon in breast meat for some in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States