Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wow! Best recipe to impress and this is so good I want to marry it! It has become my stand by. Do not omit the veggies as they are key. In making a gravy, I puree some of the carrots, etc. and include them in the stock. It just adds a depth that is unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Not a winner. Skin burnt almost immediately and the breast was too dry while the back was almost undercooked, this with an UNSTUFFED turkey. Could not taste any of the maple flavouring. Thank you, Ibby, for sharing this recipe, but I feel that it was too much effort for very disappointing results. Next time I will be trying the brine recipe I saw in my local paper last week but didn't use this year in favour of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This made the most delicious, moist turkey and by far the best gravy I have ever tasted. Definitely the best gravy I have ever made and it was SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wouldn't change anything. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very nice subtle flavor! I made this in the slow cooker instead of the oven and it was extremely moist! the gravy was a little sweet so i cut it with store bought turkey gravy to taste and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The turkey tasted good, though the maple flavor didn't really come through, except for in the gravy made later. That was quite sweet, so my mom added salt and spices to make the gravy more traditional. I made the maple/butter mixture the night before as well, and the next day it was all separated. The butter floated to the top and became hard again in the refridgerator, while the maple, apple juice and spices remained liquids underneath the butter. I had to break it apart, mix it as well as I could, and stuff the hard maple butter brickle under the skin. I rubbed the liquid part all around the outside of the turkey. Decent flavor at the end, just hard to follow through on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe this Thanksgiving for my first turkey and it was a success!! Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
BEST TURKEY EVER! When ever I cook Turkey for Thanksgiving or Christmas this is the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving! The first year I made it my family absolutely loved it, so I was chosen to make the turkey every year now. Turkey comes out moist and the gravy is different from your typical gravy which the family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe is going to be standard from now on for Turkey with me. I cooked a Turkey last week (August -- I know but it was good practice and I had an extra bird in my freezer). Had to substitute cider with Simply Apple juice and added a fresh sliced Granny smith for the fruit essence and fished it out of reduction later; lime zest for lemon. It is truly the Maple Syrup that makes this. My butter was a bit wet as I increased the ingredients but no matter. I did not incorporate the veggies but melded the drippings with some stock and the gravy was out of this world. I separated the butter from the drippings and used it to crisp up potatoes. Dried marjoram worked fine. I had fresh Thyme from garden. I cooked bird in dome-covered roasting pan (Oneida)-- basted ONCE! and it came out perfectly tender. Great recipe. Only took 2.5 - 3 hours with 20 pounder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States