Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I've made Thanksgiving dinner for the past 15 years and I've tried many different turkey recipes (even a teriyaki turkey one year!) I think this recipe is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This recipe was wonderful, and will become our new Thanksgiving treat. My husband and children loved it! Take the advice, and serve it with the Cranberry, Sausage and Appple Stuffing! Thanks for such a delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I have made this recipe twice and its wonderful. I corsely chop the veggies that go under the turkey and then save them along with about half the dripping *before making the gravy* and use them for turkey noodle soup with the leftover turkey. The first time I made this, my family kind of turned their noses up, until they tasted it. Now they request this turkey instead of the traditional one we used to make :) Thanks Ibby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I took a chance and tried this for Thanksgiving, a gigantic leap for somebody like me who grew up with butter-only glaze. But I was so wonderfully rewarded with the most perfect turkey I’ve ever made. It’s sweet, but not too sweet, and it really melts in your mouth. And it beautifully roasts your turkey to a Hollywood Thanksgiving Turkey golden color that almost makes you feel guilty eating it. The gravy… Oh, so tasty. It goes great on the turkey, great on mashed potatoes, great sopped up with biscuits, pretty much a wonderful compliment to all of your Thanksgiving sides. And this makes the most unbelievable stock. Team this turkey with mixed bread sage sausage stuffing (find the sage sausage by Jimmy Dean), a shot of white wine, and you’ll amaze your family with the fantastic meal you’ve put together. Here are some basic tips for Thanksgiving turkey though… It seems that not everybody on this board has been introduced to the wonder that is Oven Bags. I promise you, this recipe in an Oven Roaster Bag, and you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven. It browns your turkey perfectly, and is much easier than foil. Cut up 2 onions and throw them in the bag, sprinkle about a tablespoon of flour in the bag and shake until the onions are well coated… Put in the turkey and this sauce. Cut some slits in the bag, throw it in the oven, and every 30 – 40 minutes, stick a baster in one of the slits and coat the turkey. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
i'd give this high marks for looking good, and staying moist, but lower ones for taste. All the "extra's " kind of take points away from the healthiness of a turkey. Makes great stock, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I brined the turkey before i baked it... but otherwise i followed the recipe fairly closely. (only gave it four stars because if brining directions had been included it would be even better =D) The turkey was very good, flavorful. The gravey was also very good. DO remember the foil...I had forgotten until AFTER the bird had been a bit burned. Still tasted pretty good though =) Would definately recomend this recipe. My other friend made it once and it was FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
A classic. The whole family loves it. We've made it that past two Thanksgivings and it's been outstanding each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I made my Thanksgiving turkey with this recipe this year. The recipe for the maple butter was plenty to cook my 20 pound bird. The taste was sweet, but not overpoweringly maple. It received rave reviews from all of my guests, all who said it was the best turkey they'd gotten to eat! My maple gravy came out a bit too fatty, but cooling it in the fridge and skimming it made it perfect for potatoes, next-day sandwiches, and everything in between. The carcass also produced a very nice flavored stock for soups and stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was a delightful new flavor for our Thanksgiving turkey. The meat came out juicy, sweet, and tender. Just be sure to cover the bird in tinfoil while in the oven - the added sugars can scald the surface. We found making a tent out of the foil we extremely helpful and kept the bird succulant! Brilliant! Deserving of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
when i cooked this for thanksgiving 2004, it was the first time i ever heard nothing said at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States