Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Made this yesterday for Thanksgiving and was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. I'm not normally a gravy person and I thought it was to die for. I made my turkey in a 16 qt roaster oven (so I'd have my regular oven free) and it turned out pretty well. I was worried that it wouldn't brown but it finally did there in the last 30 minutes. I will definitely use this recipe again the next time I make a turkey but next time I think I'll inject the maple/butter concoction into the bird to see if I can impart more of that wonderful flavor throughout. My one change was having to add an extra can of broth to the pan while it was cooking which gave me 1-1/2 cups broth at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was a good, and different way to roast a turkey. I liked the sweetness of the gravy, but I would have preferred a little less sweetness. Don't get me wrong though, it was still very good and I'm looking forward to the leftovers. The cider/maple syrup made the skin brown nicely. I stuffed the cavity with about 10 garlic cloves and a very small apple, sliced. After roasting, there was 6 cups of drippings left in my pan!! So it took a while to thicken the gravy; I had to add more flour w/a water paste. Good turkey, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was the BEST! I will make roast turkey with this recipe from now on. The flavor of the gravy was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I've made this recipe the past two Thanksgivings and plan to use it again this year. The turkey always comes out moist, and the gravy has amazing flavor! The only thing I do differently is add a lot more chicken stock at the bottom of the roasting pan (a lot of it evaporates during cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
A year after making Thanksgiving dinner with this recipe, my friends and family are still talking about it. I won't make turkey any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I give this recipe 4 stars. The baste for the turkey, was EXCELLENT. I just happened to overcook my turkey a bit too much to vouch for the moist raves other reviewers gave this recipe. The gravy was also very easy (my first time making gravy) and had a very good, different taste. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have made this recipe on two occassions. Both times I got rave reviews. I never did get the gravy to thicken, but it is incredible just the same. For the second time, I put the Turkey in a roasting bag and it came out even better. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is my third time making a turkey with this recipe and it turns out juicy and flavorful every time. The gravy is especially nice on mashed potato. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
just wonderful....I have made this twice and both times everything was flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Absolutely Stupendous. All I did was add a can of chicken broth to the roaster to keep the bird from drying out as there weren't a lot of juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States