Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I loved it. Such a nice change from plain turkey! The gravy was delicious and subtly sweet. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made this for my family when they came out for Thanksgiving. It was good. I would suggest making the apple butter a day or two ahead of the big turkey day. It will give it more time to "set". Otherwise very good recipe. Moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I liked the flavors,yes a tad on the sweet side but so flavorful.I cooked my turtey in a bag and did everything as was stated and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was my first turkey, and it got rave reviews. It was very moist, but I didn't think it tasted very maple-y (except the skin). I liked the addition of the lemon zest (I read in some reviews that some didn't care for it, but I liked it). The gravy was outstanding - I included the apple brandy in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
1st Turkey I've ever cooked, but it was the best Turkey I've ever tasted. I added a bit of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montpelier, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was not a keeper for me. I loved the way the apple cider butter tasted, but it made my turkey brown so fast that the skin actually turned black and I had to cover completely with foil which then steamed it. I think the temperature was too high as my turkey was over cooked too. Although the gravy was delicious, I could not taste the maple butter on my meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The turkey did come out wonderful. Very moist.I am changing this review to give it 4 stars for the turkey ONLY. The gravy was not a favorite for us. The gravy was very, very, sweet. I had 2 pkgs of McCormick turkey gravy on hand that I made and added to it, and still very sweet. So I added some white wine to it. That did take some of the sweetness away, but still left it very sweet. If I do make this turkey recipe again, which I probably will. I would not use the drippings for the gravy. I would use store bought or make some ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Delicious! The turkey was so moist, and the presentation was top notch. I slid a few whole sage leaves under the breast skin and it looked so pretty. The gravy was outstanding, guests were commenting on how great it was. I didn't get the apple brandy (too $$$) so I just used regular brandy that I had. So very good. I will prepare my turkey this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe and it turned out beautifully. Everybody loved it. The white meat was moist not dry at all like it usually is. Thank you very much Ibby. MaryD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Didn't Like This. Was not a favorite at Thanksgiving Won't make again. My husband liked it maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kisling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States