Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
my review is long-overdue as I've made this turkey recipe several times, beginning a number of years ago. I am prepping to make this tomorrow for yet another Thanksgiving. 5 stars all the way, this is an AMAZING turkey. Yes, gravy is quite sweet but that is a give-in, seeing the ingredients used and should not detract from the ratings. I make this exactly as written and it turns out awesome every single time!Thanks for the incredible recipe! I'm so looking forward to enjoying this tomorrow! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I've made this the last two Thanksgiving and it is DELICIOUS!! IT cooks up so beautifully and is sweet, but not overly. Can't wait to Thanksgiving day this year! I usually brine my turkey the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wow! Best recipe to impress and this is so good I want to marry it! It has become my stand by. Do not omit the veggies as they are key. In making a gravy, I puree some of the carrots, etc. and include them in the stock. It just adds a depth that is unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Not a winner. Skin burnt almost immediately and the breast was too dry while the back was almost undercooked, this with an UNSTUFFED turkey. Could not taste any of the maple flavouring. Thank you, Ibby, for sharing this recipe, but I feel that it was too much effort for very disappointing results. Next time I will be trying the brine recipe I saw in my local paper last week but didn't use this year in favour of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This made the most delicious, moist turkey and by far the best gravy I have ever tasted. Definitely the best gravy I have ever made and it was SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wouldn't change anything. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very nice subtle flavor! I made this in the slow cooker instead of the oven and it was extremely moist! the gravy was a little sweet so i cut it with store bought turkey gravy to taste and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The turkey tasted good, though the maple flavor didn't really come through, except for in the gravy made later. That was quite sweet, so my mom added salt and spices to make the gravy more traditional. I made the maple/butter mixture the night before as well, and the next day it was all separated. The butter floated to the top and became hard again in the refridgerator, while the maple, apple juice and spices remained liquids underneath the butter. I had to break it apart, mix it as well as I could, and stuff the hard maple butter brickle under the skin. I rubbed the liquid part all around the outside of the turkey. Decent flavor at the end, just hard to follow through on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe this Thanksgiving for my first turkey and it was a success!! Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
BEST TURKEY EVER! When ever I cook Turkey for Thanksgiving or Christmas this is the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States