Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
when i cooked this for thanksgiving 2004, it was the first time i ever heard nothing said at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I must start off by saying that I HATE turkey. Simply hate it for one reason...I have never tasted a turkey that wasn't so dry! Until now!!! I changed the recipe a bit to fit my needs. I omitted the lemon zest all together and doubled everything else that I would have plenty for lots of gravy( expecting the turkey to taste dry!) I also added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar to sweeten the mixture. I made the mixture the day before thanksgiving and stuck it in the frig. The morning of, I took it out and allowed it to reach room temp. When it came time to prep the turkey, I added 3/4 cup under the skin. Cooked the turkey 30 min as directed and then brushed on 1 cup of the mixture before lowering the temp and finishing cooking. The roasting pan I have has a cover so I didn't cover with foil. When we removed the turkey it looked like something out of a magazine! I have never seen a more beautiful turkey! Golden brown despite it being covered and not basting. Every bit of the turkey was soooo moist. Not one piece was dry. Everyone loved it and I can honestly say this is the first year ever we actually ate left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Good but not great, although very moist. I didn't make the gravy so this may account for the lack of amazing taste. A bit too much lemon in breast meat for some in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Very juicy and yummy. Everybody absolutely LOVED it. The only thing I would do differently is make a larger turkey so I have more leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
The turkey was absolutely delicious. My whole family loved it, even my 3 year old picky eater! I plan on making this turkey again for the holidays. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCASEY816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was my first year serving Thanksgiving dinner as well as my first attempt at roasting a turkey. All in all it came out O.K. The breast meat did come out too dry but the dark meat was moist and delicious. I goofed a little bit with the gravy though. I forget to save the maple butter mixture, so, I made a paste out of 1/4 cup of the broth left in the pan and made a gravy with that. It was pretty good. Overall, even though the white meat came out too dry this went over pretty well! Especially for a first timer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I have been using this recipe for close to four years and we love it. Not only does it help create a delicious tasting turkey, but the gravy is uniqud and awesome. I recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
The turkey smelled wonderful while cooking but it came out a little dry (and I cooked it less time than the recipe said) and I felt that all the butter that was used in the syrup glaze just didn't add that much more flavor to the turkey. The recipe said to cook the turkey to 180 degrees. Other recipes for roast turkey say between 170-175 degrees. Next time I would definately cook it less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made this last year and it was the best turkey everyone had ever had. It was moist and juicey. You can bet I will make it again this year. Everyone who had it wants the recipe. Dont change a thing when making this turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I made this for my first turkey last Christmas. I never rated it...but my family is still raving about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States