Maple Praline Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Tried to make this twice. Both times, I couldn't get the candy to stick. My son was so disappointed! :'( Not to waste anything, We ended up eating the bacon separately from the "candy" once it had hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
dont use imitation maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If you are looking for an unusal sweet treat you are right on the money. My daughter begged me to make this and it wasn't bad. We didn't add the nuts as she isn't a fan but otherwise followed direction exactly. The bacon does need to be crispy. I baked mine in the oven and it came out crispy and solid for dipping in the sauce. I hade a bit of extra caremel but my daughter just put it on her french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yum! Great for a dinner party as a conversation starter. Better to lay the bacon on parchment paper and then drizzle the mix over it, then add chopped/toasted pecans quickly... Didn't feel that there was enough to dip it in, could double the drizzle if you wanted extra. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
this stuff is addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I had this at a resturant in Baton Rouge for Mother's Day Bunch, I have been trying to figure out how to make it ever since. It came out GREAT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
OMG! This stuff is so bad for you but so good. I like it best when you let it cool all the way down...sounds a little weird combining candy with meat, but it's like the two were made for each other. And while I was a little intimidated by the whole candy thermometer thing, it was actually pretty easy stuff to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I also love the idea of this. I followed the directions to a T and was very disappointed. As soon as I added the toasted pecans, the candy mixture turned into a solid mass! I almost threw it out. Instead I tried adding about 2 more tablespoons of maple syrup to the pot, and put it back on low heat. It slowly broke up to the point where I was able to spread it on top of the bacon, but not coat the bacon. The flavour of the bacon and the mixture together is divine. But next time I wont be adding the pecans to the mixture. I will coat the bacon in the mixture then coat the top of the dipped bacon with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love the idea of this - and the taste. I had a little trouble with the praline mixture coating the bacon. I felt like it may have been too thick, and some of it dried funky-looking. Granted, I don't have a candy thermometer, so I was winging it a bit. I'm also going to try this again cutting the bacon into bite-size pieces before I fry it. I felt like a whole bacon strip was a bit much (maybe if the candy is thinner it would be a good sized serving, I don't know). Anyway, will definitely make these again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This really is fabulous. I've been making this ever since I saw it in a southern cookbook when I first moved into my own place. Only difference is I always used heavy duty foil that I sprayed liberally with Pam. Make sure to watch the candy mixture carefully, otherwise you'll have a mess on your hands. This is addictive, watch out. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States