Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
@larkspur, for the maple flavor you must use pure syrup, i find that store bought stuff isn't very good. Not sure what you used, but thanks for your compliment:) Glad you enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Wow...these are VERY good! The only problem is once I start eating them, I don't want to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I love these! super simple and yet so delicious! I read the other reviews about it not being maple-y enough. I used just regular old eggo syrup and I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are rediculously delicious! Made a double batch and gave half to my coworker for her birthday. Good maple syrup is key to this recipe for a strong maple flavor. Only thing I'd do differently next time is to line the pan with parchment paper. I thought a quick spritz of cooking spray would suffice...I was wrong. However, they still tasted fantastic in pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katydid106

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These are absolutely delicious bars! The amount of pecans is perfect, the filling was just slightly gooey, and the shortbread base is so buttery and delicious. The only thing wrong with these is that the maple flavor isn't all that present...you can taste a delightful hint of it in the bars, but they aren't extremely maple-y. I may decide to add some maple flavoring to the next batch I make, because adding more syrup would mess too much with the texture of the filling. I lined my baking pan with Reynold's release foil so that I could just take the whole section of cooled bars right out of the pan for ease of cutting. I did cut them into triangles instead of one inch squares...I thought they looked prettier that way. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These are fabulous! I used Grade B maple syrup I purchased at a farmers' market in Middlebury, VT while visiting a friend. It is by far the best maple syrup I've ever had - buttery, rich and smooth. It gave a delicous and delicate maple flavor to these bars. Also, I didn't have any pecans on hand so I used walnuts and it was still excellent. I can only image how phenomenal it would be with pecans. Thank you for sharing. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These are so good!! I didn't change the recipe at all and they turned out rich and delicious. Thanks for a new dessert bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan, and substituted an extra tablespoon of maple syrup for 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnizzle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made this exactly as written, except for the addition of 1/2 tsp maple extract to give it a more distinctive flavor. My husband loved these. Tastes a lot like pecan pie tarts. Next time I'm planning on substituting some white sugar because it was a little too caramel tasting for my liking. I also lined my pan with foil so i could lift out, to make the cutting into bars easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Sooo tasty and seriously so simple it shouldn't be baking legal! I've made this both with pecans and walnuts and its equally as good to us. The only thing I really have to add is that I have started adding just a pinch of salt to the egg mixture and would like to reiterate what the other reviewers have said about the maple syrup...it must be good quality pure syrup or you might as well omit it because you won't prominently taste it. Thanks for this easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States