Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These are absolutely delicious bars! The amount of pecans is perfect, the filling was just slightly gooey, and the shortbread base is so buttery and delicious. The only thing wrong with these is that the maple flavor isn't all that present...you can taste a delightful hint of it in the bars, but they aren't extremely maple-y. I may decide to add some maple flavoring to the next batch I make, because adding more syrup would mess too much with the texture of the filling. I lined my baking pan with Reynold's release foil so that I could just take the whole section of cooled bars right out of the pan for ease of cutting. I did cut them into triangles instead of one inch squares...I thought they looked prettier that way. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent! Here are my additions: 1). doubled batch; 2). used 1/3 brown and 1/3 white sugar in the dough; 3). added 1/3 c. shredded coconut and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the topping; 4). lined the pan with foil and lightly coated with Wilson's Cake Release; 5). Immediately after removing from oven I sprinked lightly and evenly with miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips (don't spread when they melt - just let them 'dot' the cookies with little bursts of chocolate). After cooling almost completely; the bars cut beautifully! For first time shortbread makers - let the butter come to room temperature naturally - don't try to microwave it. Then cut the sticks into little cubes, and sprinkle the cubes into the flour/sugar mixture as you're mixing it. Mix on low to medium speed and don't overmix. Taking this extra care with the butter and using a standing mixer will make a beautiful dough that is evenly incorporated, allowing you to just lift the dough out and press right into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie1244

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made this exactly as written, except for the addition of 1/2 tsp maple extract to give it a more distinctive flavor. My husband loved these. Tastes a lot like pecan pie tarts. Next time I'm planning on substituting some white sugar because it was a little too caramel tasting for my liking. I also lined my pan with foil so i could lift out, to make the cutting into bars easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan, and substituted an extra tablespoon of maple syrup for 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnizzle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Sooo tasty and seriously so simple it shouldn't be baking legal! I've made this both with pecans and walnuts and its equally as good to us. The only thing I really have to add is that I have started adding just a pinch of salt to the egg mixture and would like to reiterate what the other reviewers have said about the maple syrup...it must be good quality pure syrup or you might as well omit it because you won't prominently taste it. Thanks for this easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
@larkspur, for the maple flavor you must use pure syrup, i find that store bought stuff isn't very good. Not sure what you used, but thanks for your compliment:) Glad you enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Lafave Kessler

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are rediculously delicious! Made a double batch and gave half to my coworker for her birthday. Good maple syrup is key to this recipe for a strong maple flavor. Only thing I'd do differently next time is to line the pan with parchment paper. I thought a quick spritz of cooking spray would suffice...I was wrong. However, they still tasted fantastic in pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katydid106

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These are little buttery bites of heaven! I now print off copies of the recipe before taking the bars anywhere to save my 16 year old from having to write the recipe out in multiples. I've made them twice now, the first time I followed the recipe to the T and the second time I added salt to the shortbread...a typical shortbread has salt in it and it did make a difference..but it was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTAYLOR76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
AMAZING! I am going to make these again for sure! The only thing i changed was the pan i used. I didnt have an 8x8 so i used my cupcake trays. this recipe makes 12 cupcakes size discs. they were a perfect 2 bites and best of all i used cupcake liners so i had no clean up. unwrap and serve they looked nice and neat. In future i will make 2 trays worth. If i do that i would double the shortbread crust and triple the filling. I found the crust was perfect for 12 cupcake size bites but i could have used a bit more filling. Seriously good. You have to try this easy and addicting treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I can't even describe how delicious these are – and they're very easy to make too. The only changes I made were to add another 1/2 cup of pecans and about 2 TBSP of extra maple syrup. As other reviewers have noted, NOTHING takes the place of real, pure maple syrup (especially an artificial extract!)... trust me, I'm Canadian. ;-) However, some people may not be aware that there are different grades of maple syrup -- light, medium, and dark. With 'dark' giving a much more intense maple flavour. It can be hard to find, but it's out there. These squares are truly awesome. I can't wait to try them with walnuts or almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States