Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delightfully delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this a few days ago. I was so excited to make this from reading all the reviews. I was craving pecans and thought this recipe would be good. I did exactly as written but when it came to baking, it wasn't so great. I put the oven to 350 degrees. I think it cooked pretty fast and 20 minutes is too long. I think the oven should be set to 320 degrees. When I checked at 20 minutes the edges were burnt. I had to take it out quickly and I poured the egg batter and lowered the temperature. It was good when it was warm but once it was cold it became hard like a rock. I ate the top part and threw out the shortbread part. I do want to try it again, it can be chewy but the instructions are not right. And the maple flavor I didnt care much for. Maybe cinnamon flavor would be better or honey flavor. I will add honey instead of maple syrup and maybe a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. So my advice heat the oven at 320 degrees, Put it in the oven for 15 minutes then pour the egg batter and put back in oven for 5 minutes more. And cut it right after you take it out. I will try it again. Hopefully I should get it right this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
followed the exact recipe. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franpod
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It took me 3 tries to get this right. I was baking the shortbread in the wrong sized tin. Make sure to use an 8 inch square tin. Another easy recipe (when done right) although my trial runs did not go uneaten either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franpod

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
These were very easy to make and tasty. I took them to a bake sale the day after I baked them - they definitely soften once they are cut and put in a cookie tin (they aren't firm like normal shortbread since they have the nut topping). Keep that in mind - they need to be eaten fairly quickly, but are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These are great! I made them exactly to the recipe using real organic maple syrup and light brown sugar. They were very tasty with a wonderful maple flavor. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
These were so delicious! A very simple desert and loved the shortbread base! My husband requested these again after we had finished the pan. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i actually made this into a cookie. everyone loved them! great as a Christmas treat. i used the same recipe just used a cookie cutter and baked them. then i just used one tablespoon of the topping for each cookie. they came out great! soft and chewy! =^_^=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These were a big hit at the office. I made the recipe as is with only slight adjustments. I added a pinch of sea salt to the pecan mixture and threw in a few more pecans. I forgot to prick the shortbread with a fork before cooking but they still turned out great. I will definitely make these again. It reminded me of pecan pie, only better. They weren't overly sweet which made them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Amazing, and so easy! I used a butter maple pancake syrup and walnuts as that's what I had on hand, and added a pinch of kosher salt to the topping. I found I liked them much better once they had cooled, these are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States