Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just made these and they are still a little warm but I cut them because I couldn't wait.. The smell was just heavenly as they baked! I doubled the recipe, which I'm glad I did; I used a 13x9" pan and added 1/4 tsp. maple flavor along with using "real" maple syrup. They are rich and delicious without being too sweet. I wish I had a scoop of ice cream to put on top of them. This will most likely be what I'm bringing for Thanksgiving.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this for my family at Thanksgiving and they all loved it. I added more pecans as it didn't seem like enough once I had it mixed and on the crust. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I made these today and agree that they are fabulous! I used about double the amount of pecans, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The bars are buttery and not too sweet - my guy told me they were great, and ate five. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is my first review and I have tried many fantastic recipes, but this one is definitely worth the time to write a review. I have made this several times and its simply amazing! I follow the recipe exactly but I found the bigger the chunks for the pecans, the better it looks and tastes. Place a giant handful of pecans in a ziplock bag and hit it a couple times with a rolling pin ( double bag because the bag breaks) and its the perfect consistency. AMAZING. This is small batch. Its perfect to make a great desert without having too much of it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I doubled the pecans after reading some reviews. It was perfect. These are heavenly! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
These were a nice lightly flavored butter cookie. Easy to make and yummy! I baked mine about 20 minutes and would recommend making them small so the middle part bakes all the way. I even left out the pecans because I wanted a simple, easy butter cookie. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Very good, but my only complaint was that the bottom crust got soggy after 24 hours or less. I did add a bit of maple flavoring per other reviews. These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
The topping softened the shortbread too much and almost felt like it was uncooked. It was good, but I wouldn't use this recipe again. I would probably double the pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are Fantastic!! I had some extra pecans i wanted to use up and my Husband needed a snack for his lunch so I thought id give these a shot! very very good I did add a little vanilla extract to the shortbread and added a little cinamon in with the pecan mixture and i added almost a cup of pecans! this was so simple to throw together! I hope he enjoys them as much as I do!!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very tasty, like mini pecan pies with a buttery shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States