Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Epic disappointment. For so many raving reviews, I was optimistic. The crust process went well. After 20 mins, I added the pecan topping and baked for 13 mins (recipe says 12-15). The result looked NOTHING like @larkspur's picture shown for this recipe. When I scrolled through other bakers' photos, I saw similarities to my own results: an unattractive brownish sea of 'yuck.' Needless to say, I did not serve these and threw the whole mess into the trash. There is only so much value for a recipe's taste; for me, success also means a good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe! Whenever I take some to a potluck, my friends fight over it. I've also tried it with about 1/4 cup of chopped crisp bacon in addition to the pecans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Didn't have pecans so I used walnuts almonds and cashews and it turned out great! Will make again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Loved these. One of the most easiest desserts I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Better texture and taste the next day. Not completely satisfied with the shortbread crust but 5-year old helper shoulders the blame for not pricking the crust so says his on-the-phone stupidvisor. The recipe is well worth trying again as the bars were yummy, just not pretty. Next time will use easy release foil which would make it easier to cut the gooey bars outside the pan. See ‘View Notes’.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very good, and mistake-proof! I messed up the crust (melted the butter a bit too much!) and then baked it too long and it was still awesome. I did use my cheap maple syrup that I had on hand, so you really couldn't taste it, but that was OK. This is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these just as written except I double it and used a 9 x 13 metal pan lined with parchment paper. Baked for 20 minutes as the recipe states. Turned out perfect and delicious. Be sure to spread out the pecans so they evenly cover the shortbread. Cut them in even squares, then cut them in half diagonally for a decadent look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it was amazing! I was looking for an easier alternative to a pecan pie for Thanksgiving dessert and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
These are absolutely spectacular! I didn't imagine just how wonderful these would be! I also added 1/3 of Skor bits (the kind you get in the same place in the grocery store as chocolate chips) to the pecan mixture and they are to DIE for!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
These are delicious. Very simple. I think they are better the longer you let them set up. The only thing I changed is using Aunt Jemima. Love pure syrup and I am sure the purity would be excellent flavor but all I have right now is Aunt Jemima. Ugh but don't want to waste it so I am using it. I did not add the maple extract maybe the fake syrup already has the additive? Making another 2 batches today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States