Maple Pecan Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Awesome! Added a half cup shredded coconut and subbed coconut oil for canola oil and vanilla for maple extract. This is a definite keeper! Oh I don't like cinnamon in my granola so I left it out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I thought this was good granola. The cook times were exact too. I lined a large baking sheet with foil and turned it after 20 minutes and then again after 15 minutes. I baked it on the bottom rack farthest away from the heat source. It makes quite a bit, but I know it will get eaten as cereal or on yogurt or ice cream. I assumed ground flax seed was flax meal and used that. It makes it a little messy if eating it by hand though. Only other downside, of the recipe, is maple syrup is so expensive and this takes 2/3 a cup of it. However, the maple flavor does come through and it smells very good while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
For lower calorie count use 1/4 cup of coconut oil instead of 1/3 canola. I used 1/2 tsp salt and sprinkled more on top. Omitted flavoring, seeds, and cinnamon, added vanilla. Perfect. At least half the price of store bought, and soooo much better. What's with those tiny bags of $4.00 stale store bought granola anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Awesome! I followed the recipe, and added a few things on my own. I took 2 tbl. spoon of peanut butter and microwaved it with 1 tbl. spoon of coconut oil until melted and added it to the original oil mixture. Instead of using pure maple syrup I substituted 1/2 real and half artificial (cheeper!) . And I also added vanilla as well :D After baking it, I added honey to clump it up, and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I skipped the flax seed and used 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla in place of the maple flavoring. I used sugar free syrup. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I make this on a regular basis to replace store bought granola. I tried a couple others before finding this one and it is our favorite. I make it almost exactly as listed except I use vanilla instead of maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
So good! I used wheat germ vs flax seed and vanilla vs maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Used whole flax seed and added 1/2c of wheat germ as well. Yummy in my yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I fell in love with maple granola on a trip to New England but haven't been able to find it in the Northwest so I was really happy to find this recipe. I used pure maple syrup as called for but did substitute coconut oil for the canola oil. Other than that I made as written, including maple flavoring and cinnamon, but since I didn't have pecans I subbed sliced almonds and added flaked coconut and raisins because I like both in my granola. I don't believe these things substantially changes the wonderful maple flavor of this granola. Now the big question - should I keep this to myself or share with DH. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Fantastic Granola! I ran out of syrup so made it with half honey half maple syrup. My family LOVES this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States