Maple Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Way to dry and dense. Maybe using cake flour instead of all purpose. I am not into heavy duty cakes. My husband tried it, said not to make it again. But, I will give it a whirl again with the cake flour and real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I had much higher hopes for this one. I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I made was to substitute pecans for walnuts (my boyfriend doesn't really like walnuts) I cooked my cake for exactly 40 minutes, checking it beforehand to see if it was done earlier. At first glance it looked like it came out perfectly. It certainly smelled divine. However, after tasting it, I was a bit disappointed. I used the Maple Butter Frosting from this site on it, and everyone agreed the frosting was the best part of the cake. My cake came out very dense and a bit dry. I'm willing to concede that perhaps it should have come out of the oven a few minutes earlier, but based on the texture of batter before it was baked, I tend to believe this is just how it's supposed to be. I'm sure some people enjoy a cake with this texture, it's just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
i substituted a couple tablespoons maple syrup for the maple extract as i can't get that where i live. because i made this on christmas day, i added some freshly grated nutmeg and cinnamon. this is such an easy recipe with ingredients that i usually have on hand, will definitely be making this again and often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Used cake flour and 1/2 milk and 1/2 heavy cream. Came out great and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very easy to make. I made these as cupcakes it made 11 large cupcakes. Cooked them for 30min Followed the recipe exactly and found these were very good not a super moist cake but not really dry either. adjust maple flavoring to taste as is its not very mapley. (is that even a word? lol) Will make again. ps. I topped with the Maple Butter Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
kind of had a whole grain taste to it . . . I don't know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Good flavor but the consistency was more like bread or crumb cake. I added 1/4 cup of half & half in addition to the milk and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. I used male syrup instead of extract and added 1 tsp extra of male syrup. I also reduced the baking time to 35mins. but it still came out a bit dryer than I expected. I topped it with the maple icing from this site which went nicely with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good. I made 42 mini cupcakes baking them for 15 minutes. The Maple Butter Icing is delicious and it was just the right amount for the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This turned out absolutely wonderful. I used almost all organic ingredients. Instead of plain milk, I used lowfat buttermilk and I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. This was a snap to make and really rose beautifully. I used a simple maple icing to go over the top of this. My husband cut into it this afternoon and just fell in love. It's wonderful as is, but this would be great with a little cinnamon and nutmeg, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was pretty good, but I wasn't overly impressed with the texture or flavor of these. I made this into 14 cupcakes that baked for about 17 min. I used 1 c milk, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 tsp of vanilla. Something just seemed missing. I made the maple cream cheese icing from this site, but preferred them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States