Maple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Just a tip for those disappointed in the weak maple flavor: When baking with maple syrup, it is a good idea to use Grade B syrup, which is stronger flavored and intended for baking or cooking rather than as a table syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These muffins were great. I cut the recipe in half, added a bit more syrup than called for, and poured it into 12 mini muffin cups . I used Grade A Dark Amber syrup, so it was just a subtle but very nice maple flavor. I also replaced the sugar with Splenda, and used almost all wheat flour because i ran out of white. Wonderful recipe! Later note: I made this again in a regular muffin pan and with the whole recipe. I replaced the shortening with 1 tbs shortening, 1 tbs butter, and 2 tbs applesauce. I used a little over 2/3 cup of maple syrup and added a little less than 1/4 cup of toasted chopped walnuts. This time i used all white flour, and it was soooo delcious, i ate about 5 of them. The bit of toasted walnuts was REALLY delicious in it. I LOVE this recipe to death.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I didn't care for these. You can BARELY taste the maple syrup. Not worth the time. My fiance liked them though. I doubt I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
i just made these little gems,and they are soooo good. only change one thing ,i used brown sugar.and you can taste the maple. please don't add any spices or youll lose that maple taste.will make these again & again thanks .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Huge hit at our house! Light, chewy, and sweet without being cloying. DBF is a maple-aholic and this recipe was an instant success. :-) I used Grade B maple syrup, as this is our preference and what was on-hand. Grade B isn't easy to find outside sugar houses, so when it's gone, I'll probably use whatever real Grade A is commercially available and add some maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Light, delicious muffin. I loved the maple and added extra oats for more texture. Kids loved it for a snack too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
How delightful to find a recipe that is so quick and easy--and delicious! These were refreshing in that they are very light tasting--nice texture with just a subtle, wonderful maple taste without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
NIce Light muffins. I would have liked them to be sweeter, next time I make them I'll be adding brown sugar. I also made them with vanilla soy milk instead of milk. they froze and reheated nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
very good warm and freshly made a little drab the following days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! I did play with it a little. I saw that a lot of folks were substituting brown sugar for the white suger -- I went one step further and used pure maple sugar, which boosted the maple flavor levels. Also, I didn't have rolled oats in the house, but quick oats worked fine. I used real butter, too, for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States