Maple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made with butter, brown sugar, almond milk, real maple syrup + 1 t maple extract these turned out beautifully and were not overly sweet. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the mix. These were still a little bland. Next time I'll add a tsp. of jam in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this muffins and they were OK. I think one commenter mentioned using stronger maple syrup? Bland as is; but I think if I added some nuts or butterscotch chips I might make these again. Another commenter mentioned they freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used melted butter in place of the shortening and I added a scant teaspoon of maple flavoring. I did not get 12 muffins, I got nine muffins that were a bit on the small side. Baked at 350*, they were done at 20 minutes. The smell of these baking was incredible. These were very tasty. I recommend adding maple extract to really bump up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilly K
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
these were so great i added just a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon and it very much complemented the maple syrup... very moist and not to sweet just like i like it... and you could taste the maple... deffinetly yummm... gonna have the rest in the morning by heating it up a bit cutting in half and spread some butter on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly K

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was a sweet little gem that tasted like a wonderful pancake with syrup all rolled into one muffin. The only thing that keeps me from giving it five stars is that it could have benefited from a few chopped nuts or dried banana pieces to give it more nutritional value. Still, that is a personal thing and is not the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
One recent morning I was craving buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup, but was just too lazy to go through the process...enter these Maple Muffins! I appreciated this recipe, with a few modifications (hence 4 stars) - some of which were out of necessity, some out of preference. They were... -I used brown sugar instead of white. I've been doing that with a lot of recipes recently for added flavor and moistness. I think it complimented the maple flavor, as well. -I did not have shortening on hand, so used chilled butter in the same quantity. I will probably continue to use butter. -Since I was craving buttermilk pancakes, I used buttermilk in place of regular milk, and it was fantastic (I'm sure coddled milk would work just as well). -I used a Franz 9 Grain hot cereal in place of the rolled oats, but I'm sure either would be equally delicious. -Finally, if you have non-stick muffin pans, do yourself a favor and give them a shot of non-stick spray and put the batter directly into the pan, foregoing paper muffin cups. The sugars in the batter carmalized a bit on the outside of the muffins and was amazing. This is one time you will not want to give the stumps to the homeless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
As the recipe is written they are not all that great. When I made them with Grade B (darker syrup meant for baking) they were okay but still not all that much maple flavour. When I added a maple glaze and served with maple butter they were over the top awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! I did play with it a little. I saw that a lot of folks were substituting brown sugar for the white suger -- I went one step further and used pure maple sugar, which boosted the maple flavor levels. Also, I didn't have rolled oats in the house, but quick oats worked fine. I used real butter, too, for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have not made these yet, to those who complained about the lack of maple flavour, you could always add a bit of Mapeline (sic?) or Maple extract. You also could mix up a bit of a glaze and add either maple syrup or extract. I will be trying these soon though. I always try to stick to the recipe the first time I make a recipe, as I feel it is a bit unfair to rate something if not tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States