Maple Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I made these for the office and added a butter/maple/sugar glaze and they were gone in 5 minutes with a note that they were the best cookies they'd ever had. A few tips: don't flatten when you put the pecan on top, they spread, and if your kitchen is warm put the formed cookies on the sheet in the frige for a few minutes so they won't spread too much. A great recipe I will use over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made these cookies twice and loved them! I will say do not use margarine!! As most know, real butter is key! My cookies didn't flatten out. I had to flatten them slightly before putting them in the oven. I also did not have any pecan halves so I too used a maple glaze which really MADE the cookie! Everyone seemed to love them! I was very pleased with the end result! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kristofeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLASHDANCE35
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
They were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Nice and buttery, kind of like shortbread. I ran out of pecan halves, so I finished up dipping the tops into pecan pieces, and it worked just as well. Next time I might try rolling them in pecan meal. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Took this one to my club meeting. Ladies loved it. I liked it because it was inexpensive to make, but tasty and easy . Meanestjean in Connecticut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I always look for new cookie recipes around Christmas and this one appealed to me. However, when I saw the up and down reviews, I was hesitant to try it. I can say I'm really glad that I did. These are tender, buttery, tasty and attractive! I didn't change the recipe at all. You should make sure your butter is soft (use the real thing), but I don't recommend putting it in your microwave. I used a small cookie scoop to keep the size uniform, which I think is also important. Mix the dough thoroughly. I had some butter on the top of the mixing bowl that I incorporated into a couple of cookies and these really spread out! Otherwise, the other cookies were fine and maintained their shape. Mine took 12 minutes exactly at 350º, and when done, I let them cool on the cookie sheet about 10 minutes before removing them to a wire cooling rack. The maple flavor is very delicate, so if you want a heavier maple taste, you may want to make a thin maple glaze for garnish once the cookies are completely cool. My husband loved them just the way they were, and I will be making these again for sure. Thanks, Denise for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I liked the idea of a maple cookie but I am not a huge fan of artificial maple flavor so I did make a big change: I subsituted real maple syrup for the sugar. With the added moisture did have to add a bit more flour ....but I liked the natural flavored end product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies were good. I made them with half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also added another half a teaspoon of maple extract and I added chopped pecans because I didn't have halves. They were good. the did spread out, next time will be be adding more extract. I didn't taste enough maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acashia Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Right out of the oven these were awesome, warm and chewy, but when they cooled they got very hard. I wish they'd stayed chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I was excited about this recipe because I love maple but I was really disappointed with this cookie. First of all, there is hardly any maple flavor. The flavor is decent but takes more like a straight up butter cookie. Second, the cookies did not spread at all so the 12 minutes the recipe calls for is way off. Even after flattening them more, they have still been in my oven for over a half hour now and are still doughy inside. Decent cookie but the recipe could use a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States