Maple Kale Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I just tried this recipe to go with my lunch today. It was delicious! I washed up a small amount of Kale, dried it and allowed my pan to warm up in the oven. I mixed 1 tbs of extra virgin olive oil, 1 tbs of real maple syrup and a pinch of sea salt together. Then I poured the mixture gradually over the kale as I mixed it. I removed the hot pan from the oven and dumped the kale on it. I used a really hot oven - 400 degrees - and stirred the kale a few times while it cooked and got crisp. The touch of maple takes the bitter tastes of the kale away. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Funny. I've been making these every week since discovering this recipe 2 months ago.... I just noticed I've been using 2 tbsp of evi and 1 tbsp of mp where you have it flipped the other way around. Lol... Mine are still absolutely delicious too! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Holy Cow was this good! We had this at our work as part of our health and wellness program and I couldn't get enough. I've had many different types of kale chips but this one was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Great healthy snack! Love the crispy sweet & salty taste! Will try to make them again---next time with coconut oil as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is super good- our kids loved it. I omitted the parchment paper it was really difficult to remove from the baking sheet. A light layer of cooking spray works better. I also found I needed to bake a little longer than what originally stated. But they're really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I had made baked Kale chips before, and was intrigued by this variation. I read the reviews, and decided that I'd halve the maple syrup, because I didn't want them to be too sweet. A ratio of 1 Tbsp. oil to 1 Tbsp. syrup seemed right, and it was! However, my "bunch" of kale was big I think, because when cut and laid out in a single layer, it filled two large cookie sheets. Even though I did whisk the oil and syrup to blend them in advance, and tossed the torn kale pieces well to coat them (as if tossing a salad--I used a latex glove to cover my hand, because that made even coverage easiest, without a sticky oily hand--which meant I solved the last time's problem when I ended up with uneven texture--great flavour, but some chips were a little chewy, while others were crispy). Doubling the oil and syrup (2 T. each) to better coat the amount of kale I have, and lowering the oven temperature by 25 degrees, because after 10 minutes (alternating the sheets on top and bottom racks halfway through) some were almost burnt. Coating only two sheets' worth at a time also improves kale coverage. I used a small jar with ounce marking to both mix and measure oil/syrup mixture as I used it--worked marvellously. Shake sea salt over before baking. Very popular with everyone...even my four-year-old granddaughter! Will make again, and often, I expect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Oh my gosh!!! So good! I don't usually review things but...too good not to! Just one tip remove right after baking from the sheet. I was using it as a garnish for salmon and let the kale sit...my mistake. I just scraped it off and good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Mine are still in the oven but, I have tasted them and they are very good. The only change I made was rather than salt I used one teaspoon of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning for a little kick. I also mixed the oil, syrup and seasoning together and then tossed the leaves with my hands after drizzling on the mixture. I set the timer for 10 minutes and they barely started to crisp; after turning them over I set it again for 5 minutes, they are better now they have cooked down, so I reset it for 5 more minutes. Timer just went off. They are very close not, but five more minutes should do it. Twenty-five minutes total.I turned them over each time so they won't burn. There are certainly a lot less after cooking down. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandceaton
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I replaced the olive oil with coconut oil and the kale chips were so good. Next time, I might reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I mix my oil and maple syrup (REAL maple syrup please!) in a ziploc and let it sit for a few minutes. I spread it on my dehydrator trays before sprinkling with salt. Lots of salt. I then turn on my dehydrator to 110 degrees for 8 hours. I love this. It is like caramel popcorn with kale instead of corn. Definitely one of my favorites - even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States