Maple Kale Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
WOW! I found it to be fabulous and very unique! The only thing I changed was to use Sugar Free, no calorie maple syrup. I will be serving it at a BBQ on Monday and can't wait for people's reactions when they learn it is kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I can't believe the low stars. For the person who had too sticky and too sweet, are you sure you measured right? Or did you use processed syrup, not real maple? We made these and after they cooled for a minute, they were flaky crisp, with a slightly sweet taste, mixed in with a touch of salt. I combine the oil and the syrup and after pouring on the mixture, I mixed and scrunched the kale together on the baking sheet to achieve an even coating. A surprisingly HUGE hit even for my healthy food "neigh-sayers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yummy! The only problem is that the directions are a bit vague. Be sure to rub each leaf with oil to evenly crisp during baking. You should do the same with the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is the best recipe for kale chips I've tried. The sweetness of the maple syrup really balances the bitterness of the kale. Just make sure to remove from the pan before they cool or you'll never get them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These turned out pretty well. If i was going to make these again, i would mix the syrup and olive oil in a bowl. Then i would mix the kale in the mixture to coat. And then I would put it on the baking sheet. I think that might infuse the kale with more of the maple flavor. I wish I thought of it before I put mine in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I've been making kale chips for years now, and when I found this recipe it was like a light bulb going off. Maple syrup goes really well with kale! I use almond oil instead of olive oil, although the saturated-to-unsaturated profiles are virtually identical. There's also a variation I've seen floating around where you use bacon grease instead of oil to make "maple bacon kale chips". I used 100% grade A syrup. Grade B is lighter and not as thick. If you like kale chips, this is a great variation to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I mix my oil and maple syrup (REAL maple syrup please!) in a ziploc and let it sit for a few minutes. I spread it on my dehydrator trays before sprinkling with salt. Lots of salt. I then turn on my dehydrator to 110 degrees for 8 hours. I love this. It is like caramel popcorn with kale instead of corn. Definitely one of my favorites - even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was NOT a hit in our house. These were so sticky we could not pick them up. They were also way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Funny. I've been making these every week since discovering this recipe 2 months ago.... I just noticed I've been using 2 tbsp of evi and 1 tbsp of mp where you have it flipped the other way around. Lol... Mine are still absolutely delicious too! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Holy Cow was this good! We had this at our work as part of our health and wellness program and I couldn't get enough. I've had many different types of kale chips but this one was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States