Maple Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Very good, with some minor changes. Only used 3 cups of confectioners sugar. Also used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 and 1/4 tsp maple. Everyone at work raved when I served it on spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Creamy, smooth and delightfully sweet and delicious, with just the right amounts of all the ingredients. I left the cream cheese and butter out of the fridge for a looong time, so it was good and soft - perfect for the soft , creamy look I wanted on my cupcakes, rather than stiff with crisp detail when piped. The cream cheese and maple flavors were definitely apparent but pleasantly subtle. This frosting was an ideal choice to frost "Pumpkin Spice Cake l," also from this site. I wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
Icing had a great light taste.... I added more maple flavoring and less vanilla...to make the maple more distinct.. Will make this often :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I didn't want to buy maple extract just for one cake, so I substituted syrup for the extract and about half the sugar...it made it a bit runnier, of course, but it's a very intense maple flavor and goes really well with the maple nut cake on this site. I also used neufchatel cream chese and light butter, and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Yes, I found it! I had used this recipes years ago on pumpkin cookies, but had trouble finding it again. I ended up altering the "Maple Cream Cheese Frosting" on this site to be more like what I remembered this recipe to be. I'm so glad I finally came across this recipe again - I will not lose it! I love this recipe and use it on pumpkin baked goods, like cookies and muffins. It has the perfect sweetness and just the right amount of maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a great recipe! Just what I was looking for. I used this on "Best Brownies" from this site and it was great! I cut the recipe in half, but kept the whole amount of maple flavoring, plus I drizzled in a bit of pure maple syrup. I used Neufchatel cream cheese for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
What a wonderful recipe!! I was a little curious at first with no milk or cream to smooth and loosen it up, I even got the milk out. Turned out perfect without it and tasted great!!! Can't thank you enough Rachael for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zpoiled1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2001
VERY quick and easy...my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This frosting is so yummy. It compliments D Adams' Pumpkin cake perectly for a winning combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absloutely love this one!!! Went perfectly on the maple banana bread that I made into muffins. This was the perfect consistency for piping and was extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States