Maple Glazed Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic! I made mine in a crock pot with 1/2 c extra water cooking it for 8 hours on low. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DSTEPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I tried this glaze on an 8 lb. bone-in turkey breast. While it was roasting, the smell was amazing. The finished turkey breast was moist, but only the skin seemed to have the flavor. I think the next time I try this recipe, I'll try injecting the glaze into the turkey breast to get the flavor into the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTEPE
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I'm not a brave cook so I tend to go for the recipes that already have 100+ high reviews. Not sure what I was thinking going for a recipe with only 2 previous reviews but it definitely paid off! A friend gave me a huge frozen turkey breast and as it thawed, I was clueless as far as what to do with it. I made this recipe just as written. This was really good and easy peasy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is possibly the best turkey I've ever had. I did this on a 20 lbs. whole turkey. I brined my turkey first in a maple brine for 2 days. And multiplied the recipe for 24 servings (so i had extra glaze to baste). I also did an apple maple stuffing. Absolutely delicious. I make 2 turkeys every Thanksgiving...this recipe is definitely staying in the recipe box for years to come. Thanks for sharing! I will post pictures as soon as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I tried this without the liquid smoke and the meat was terrific. I'd do it again but I must warn you about one thing. Don't even THINK about making gravy with the droppings; unless you like turkey with syurp poured on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm not a big fan of maple or liquid smoke so I took a leap of faith on this one. This was excellent. I loved the flavor combination and even better this was the juiciest turkey breast I have ever made and I make a lot of them. Not sure if it was the lower then normal cooking temp or the basting. This took exactly an hour and a half and my breast was a little under 3lbs. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was SO great but I deducted one star because the recipe doesn't mention anything about injecting the meat with the glaze, or letting it marinate at least overnight. So I amended for this and added a side dish in the pan: While I didn't have time to marinate the bird for more than a few hours, I rubbed the glaze under the skin and also injected it into the meat. This helped. I didn't have any liquid smoke, and wanted a smoky element, so I instead used some hickory seasoning (from Costco) with smoke flavor in it. It complimented the flavor profile nicely. I reduced salt for health reasons and personal preference. I stuffed the cavity of the breast with cornbread stuffing. No sweet elements added because I wanted it as a foil to the sweetness of the bird. It was perfect. I surrounded the turkey, in the pan, with baby carrots so they'd pick up the maple glaze. Then I crumbled some walnuts over them. I didn't have time to cook at that low temperature, and my bird was eight pounds, so I instead cooked at 400 degrees and wrapped the entire thing in foil. The last forty five minutes, I uncovered the top and switched from bake to roast and caramelized the skin. Breast side up where the fat was. The turkey was very flavorful with just the right hint of sweetness. I don't like overly sweet meat, and this was perfect! The carrots, due to their own sweetness, got even sweeter with the glaze they cooked in and were just perfect. The walnuts added a nice nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sshankel
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This recipe was great. I used it on a half turkey breast and roasted it in the oven. I seperated the skin from the breast and filled it with the gaze also. I basted under the skin and atop the breast throughout roasting. I served it with an aple and cranberry cornbread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was so easy and excellent. I too am not a great fan of liquid smoke, but in this case it gave it just the right savory/sweet combination that keeps me coming back for more. My husband said he didn't want to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States