Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
First, I grew up with marshmallowy/syrupy sweet potato casseroles and hated them; my palate is far more savory. You can maximize this recipe per your tastes; I did 2 versions tonight. 1st: the "sweet" version with syrup: can't afford pure maple syrup and don't like it. Used the store-brand stuff, reduced it to a near toffee consistency, then added the roasted swt. pot. and onions and bacon. The result was like taffy....chewy, sweet, and beyond flavorful. The 2nd version I did simply omitted the syrup: just the baked swt. pot., smoked bacon and carmelized onions. You know what MAKES this recipe? the thyme. I didn't have fresh; used ground I had on hand (a probable amount and then some) and it gave a wonderful punch and savory=ness to the taste. A great balance to the sweet. (Do add s/p to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great recipe to accompany ham or poultry. Did not have bacon, so substituted diced proscuitto added to onions about 5 minutes before they finished cooking. Since I did not have the bacon grease, I used a tablespoon of olive oil to saute the onions. Used a combination of 0.75 cup of the pure maple syrup and 0.5 cup diced canned pineapple and reduced that to half volume. The thyme was not something I thought I would like, but it definitely works well here. I used 0.5 teaspoon of dry thyme. Another great surprise was how good the potatoes tasted after the roasting, before adding the glaze. Served it to 12 picky women and they all want the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great with a plain yogurt, maple syrup, and cayenne sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
It was super tasty, love how all the flavors joined together. Next time, going to turn down the temp on the potatoes when they are roasting, came out slightly burnt. Definetly going to serve this at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was my favorite dish of the evening! I was out of bacon and had vegetarians as guests anyway, so I made this without the bacon and it was still heavenly. The I used a lot of pepper before baking on both sides of the potatoes. The onion and syrup made a nice contrast. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was the surprise winner of our Holiday menu. Even mom, not too crazy about sweet dishes, has requested we make this again. This is absolutely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Chris....Thanks so much for this EASY dish!!! I made it for Christmas, instead of the usual sickening sweet casseroles....it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I could have eaten all four portions that I made by myself. It's going to become a standby side here in my house. I modified this recipe to cut the calories by 180 per serving (just 107 calories a serving) and cut the fat by 6 g per serving. Changes I Made: For four people I used 1/2 lb sweet potatoes, 1/2 lb baby carrots, 1/2 a large onion, 1-1/2 slices of center cut bacon, only 1 tsp of olive oil (more than enough), and 2 T of lite syrup, plus 3/4 tsp thyme. I skipped the salt entirely because of the bacon and added plenty of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
OUTSTANDING!!! Never will I serve marshmallow topped sweet potatoes thanks to this delicious recipe. This was a HUGE hit with everyone. I made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is my first review after a year using various recipes on this site. This dish is delicious. I served it for a post Christmas large family gathering. I was tired of the same old sweet potato casserole. This is an amaaazing blend of sweet and savory, southern sweet potato and northern maple flavor. You will get so many compliments. I had at least 3 people at the party tell me this dish was their favorite. Do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States