Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This has become a "must have" dish with my dinner group and renamed Sweet Potato Crack. I've learned I can prepare most of it earlier in the day (roast potatoes, fry bacon, caramelize onions)waiting to combine and heat through right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made these last year and my friends and family could not get enough! This is now a must have at all holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I pureed these instead of roasting them and used bacon bits instead of sliced bacon. I thought it was really good, but a whole bag of bacon bits was not enough and I have a feeling 5 slices of bacon would not have been nearly enough either. This would be good without the maple syrup, for those on a low sugar diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
A good recipe for sweet potatoes. I think they are sweet enough as it is, so I leave out the maple syrup. The result is similar to turkey dressing. My family ate twice as much sweet potato as usual using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is one of my favorite ways to have sweet potatoes. I just used regular maple syrup instead of pure maple syrup and it was great. Have already made it a few times and plan to make plenty more in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Good - but something about it - wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
OMG!!! What a great way to have Sweet Potatoes! These were brought to my house for Thanksgiving and were quite the "hit." I found your recipe and have recently prepared them for dinner guests. Again, a "hit!" This recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Good but a little on the work intensive side and next time will cut down on the thyme. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this with butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and oh man was it YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Absolutely cant go wrong with this side dish! The combination is very nice. I ended up using about 1 tsp dried thyme, and 2 small red onions thinly sliced. I also cut down the roasting time to 30-35 minutes. Since I made this a day ahead of time I wanted the reheat time not not get them all mushy and over cooked. Never again will I for myself to eat the marshmallow topped goop from a can! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States