Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy Stout
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I only had dried thyme so I used 1 tsp. and it was great but will try to have fresh on hand the next time I make it.... And I will make it again! Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Stout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I am not a fan of sweet potatoes, so I was skeptical if I would enjoy this. It was delicious! Everyone at my Thanksgiving table loved it and has asked for a repeat for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Have made this many times. Love it just as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Hey vegetarians and sweet potato haters, listen up! I haven't made sweet potatoes on 5 years because they gross my dear husband out. Not this time. We made with half honey half maple syrup and NO BACON...loved it! Just sauté onions in a little olive oil and make sure to add sea salt before roasting and thyme afterward - it truly makes the dish. Next time may add roasted pecans or slivered almonds for a little crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Simply awesome! I used red onions for some color, but other than that followed the recipe exactly! I probably will decrease the amount of pure maple syrup since it was a bit sweeter than necessary and little runnier than I'd like. This is a keeper for holidays and special occasions! If you have to hold it for a length of time, there's no problem-flavors seem to marry and just get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Hands down best yam (sweet potato) dish ever. Usually most take an obligatory glob of gooey sweetness, but this year my guests clamored for seconds and raved about the savory flavor. I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This has become a "must have" dish with my dinner group and renamed Sweet Potato Crack. I've learned I can prepare most of it earlier in the day (roast potatoes, fry bacon, caramelize onions)waiting to combine and heat through right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made these last year and my friends and family could not get enough! This is now a must have at all holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I pureed these instead of roasting them and used bacon bits instead of sliced bacon. I thought it was really good, but a whole bag of bacon bits was not enough and I have a feeling 5 slices of bacon would not have been nearly enough either. This would be good without the maple syrup, for those on a low sugar diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
A good recipe for sweet potatoes. I think they are sweet enough as it is, so I leave out the maple syrup. The result is similar to turkey dressing. My family ate twice as much sweet potato as usual using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States