Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I didn't change a thing, this recipe is perfect as it is , and great for Thanksgiving! I made it last year, and everyone raved about it! Making it again this year, and can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just made these as a pre-Thanksgiving test. OMG, they were out of this world. I didn't realize until I had already starting cooking that I didn't have bacon. I can't imagine how crazy good the will be with that addition. This will be on my Thanksgiving table for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I hate when people add reviews of their altered version of a recipe on here! This recipe is great/awesome! ITS A FREAKING KEEPER and I haven't stopped making it every year for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The recipe might actually not be bad, but I just don't care much for the texture of the sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Stout
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I only had dried thyme so I used 1 tsp. and it was great but will try to have fresh on hand the next time I make it.... And I will make it again! Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Stout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I am not a fan of sweet potatoes, so I was skeptical if I would enjoy this. It was delicious! Everyone at my Thanksgiving table loved it and has asked for a repeat for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Have made this many times. Love it just as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Hey vegetarians and sweet potato haters, listen up! I haven't made sweet potatoes on 5 years because they gross my dear husband out. Not this time. We made with half honey half maple syrup and NO BACON...loved it! Just sauté onions in a little olive oil and make sure to add sea salt before roasting and thyme afterward - it truly makes the dish. Next time may add roasted pecans or slivered almonds for a little crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Simply awesome! I used red onions for some color, but other than that followed the recipe exactly! I probably will decrease the amount of pure maple syrup since it was a bit sweeter than necessary and little runnier than I'd like. This is a keeper for holidays and special occasions! If you have to hold it for a length of time, there's no problem-flavors seem to marry and just get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Hands down best yam (sweet potato) dish ever. Usually most take an obligatory glob of gooey sweetness, but this year my guests clamored for seconds and raved about the savory flavor. I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States