Maple Glazed Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I have never cooked ribs of any kind before, so am a total and complete novice in this field. I followed this recipe exactly (well, I used a little extra maple syrup and no sesame seeds) and these came out as the best ribs I have ever had, and I have eaten ribs many times in good restaurants! I highly reccomend this recipe to anyone, novice or otherwise, who loves great ribs. Especially if, like me, you like your ribs saucy, sweet and slightly spicy. I have the recipe memorized now, I have cooked it so often since I first used it! Go for it, it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. My husband couldn't stop raving about the taste. I didn't bake the ribs, I boiled them, then put them in the oven with the sauce on them. This has just the right amount of sweetness and them the orange taste comes through. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These were pretty good, my family enjoyed them. I probably would have used less orange juice concentrate and curry as it seemed like that's all I could taste, but I'm pregnant so my taste buds may be off. I also had to cook them a little longer than listed as I like lots of sauce and the sauce is a bit thin. We did not use the sesame seeds. Excellent paired with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
YUMMY! This is a GREAT rib recipe... I followed it to the letter except for the sesame seeds. Left them out because I didn't have them on hand. Thought the combination of ingredients sounded a bit weird, but it really worked together well. I will make these again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I really liked these ribs... MMM fall off the bone baby!!!! I think the best ribs are the kind you can use JUST a fork to eat. They are a little sweet though. I think they are best served with something else like steak, or chicken with a regular BBQ sauce on the beef, or chicken or however you like your steak/chicken. Just something to break up the flavor. Also I flavored the ribs with Hickordy Smoked Salt made by McCormick. I find that gives the pork a nice smoked flavor. I don't know if I liked the seaseme seeds or not. My wife liked them, I didn't think they were horrable, but I plan to leave them off my ribs next time to see if it makes diffrence. Jessica felt the seeds gave it a nice flavor, so I would suggjest trying them at least as you may be like her, and like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
My family and I really enjoyed these. Everyone left with a copy of the recipe. It was my first time cooking for a group of 10. I was intimidated just walking into the butcher shop to buy them. I used Beef Ribs. At the end, everyone was licking their fingers. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gladstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe. We used side ribs and cooked them on a rack with a pan to catch the drippings and they turned out perfecty yummy, just falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I have made this recipe 3 times. It is great, not too sweet, and I prefer to use real maple syrup over the artificial maple syrup as it gave the ribs a subtle flavor. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Everyone liked them. They looked beautiful, and they were not at all difficult. The prebaking can be done ahead. Then jus refigerate the ribs in the sauce and add 10 minutes to the baking time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These are such a treat! I actually follow the recipe on this one as is and it is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosenberg, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States