Maple Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good cake! I baked this for my sister's birthday, and it was very well received. I just used a basic powdered sugar/milk icing, and there was more than one comment of 'best cake ever'. I also used softened butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very yummy cake! Light textured, and nice with a cup of tea or coffee. It's very sweet. Too bad maple syrup is expensive...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Great recipe! I would suggest using fresh ginger and adding some vanilla. Also, I used whole wheat pastry flour for half of the flour, butter instead of shortening, and yogurt instead of sour cream. I added raisins for some more texture. For the frosting, I made a cinammon whipped cream cheese frosting and sprinkled the top with crushed walnuts. I made the cake for a friend's birthday and everyone loved it. The ginger really adds something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Wonderful cake. Moist and flavorful. I followed exactly except used a Bundt pan and baked for 45 minutes. Frosted with a maple-cream cheese frosting that I made very soft and sort of draped over the cake. Then I grated some hazelnuts and chocolate dust over the top - beautiful presentation! Thanks for the great recipe! OH. I used butter instead of shortening, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I chose this because I wanted something autumn-ish but not something common at Thanksgiving like cranberry or pumpkin and fancier than an apple dessert. The flavor was strong with 1 c. syrup even though other recipes like Martha Stewart's called for 2c. syrup. I thought the ones with maple flavor instead might be as tasty. It did sink in the middle for me which I thought was due to being in the mile high city but I saw a Virginian baker had the same issue, so I'm not sure how to fix that. A cream cheese frosting piled up in the middle fixed the saggy appearance. If I had more time I wanted to grate some nuts on top. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I changed shortening to butter, but other than that kept the recipe the same, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
great cake!! i made it for my mum's birthday and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this for an office thing and everyone really loved it. I did a basic vanilla glaze and everyone commented it was perfect for breakfast. Not too sweet but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The flavor of this cake is wonderful. I made this as a layer cake, and it was quite an eyesore. The middle of the cakes did not rise so nicely and the edges got kind of tough. I am new at baking cakes from scratch.. maybe my baking powder and soda was tired, maybe my maple syrup and eggs were too cold. I want to make this again. I used Sour Cream Frosting as a glaze, and the flavors worked together nicely, but since the frosting turned out to be a glaze, it didn't hide my cake's defects. This cake is fantastic with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The cake was excellent! :) Although, one flaw the cooking time was too long when I put the cake in for the recommended time it was overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States