Maple-Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is a nice recipe, easy & colorful. But beware of hot curry paste - it is HOT! I used 1-1/2T, but would recommend starting with 1T, because if there is too much heat the maple flavor gets lost. I used plain, unsweetened soy milk mixed with about 1T cornstarch in place of heavy cream, & it thickened up right away. Next time I make it, I may increase the maple syrup a little, like to a generous 1/4 cup. I served it over jasmine rice. I liked the concept when I read the recipe, and the recipe met my expectations well. This one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is my favorite curry recipe. I'm a bit of a wimp, so I used about 1/2 tsp of mild curry powder and it was perfect for me. That is what I love about the recipe, you can add as much or as little of the curry paste or powder to meet your hotness needs. Again, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I skip the sugar and use coconut milk instead of heavy cream. It's a sweet dish, but really good! We make it about once a month. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I liked this, (though I didn't have the red pepper)I used curry powder as well, as I didn't have the paste, and I only used about 1/2 tsp. (because of the kids) but added more at the table as well as a little salt. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 half and half to cut the fat. I served with couscous as someone suggested... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Excellent, flavorful simple dish. I had some poached chicken breasts and was surfing around allrecipes looking for something to do with them. I have always loved a bit of sweetness in my savory dishes. This recipe was just want I was looking for. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used fat free half and half with a tablespoon of Greek yogurt for thickness instead of the heavy cream. I served the chicken with brown rice and sauteed spinach. My husband raved about it. This is a for sure repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I first had this dish in a local restaurant and LOVED it! I went home to try to find its nearest match online. This recipe closely parallels that one and its delicious to the last bite. The only thing I would change would be to cut back on the number of peppers a bit. This dish is best when made with lots of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Yummy! I left out 2 of the peppers as I only had 1 red bell pepper. Used about 3 cups of chicken breast, left out the sugar and substituted 1 can coconut milk as others suggested, used 2 TBS maple syrup and about 2 1/2 TBS medium biryani curry paste since that's what was in the fridge. Could have used more but didn't want to make it too hot for the family. I would cut down the maple syrup to 1 TBS next time as my family found it quite sweet but maybe that's because of the kind of curry I used. I like that there is plenty of curry sauce. Tip: we ate it with Tandoori naan bread purchased at the grocery store and heated up by holding it with tongs on top of the gas burner on either side until slight char marks show and then buttered. Served beside steamed green beans, carrots and cauliflower. Thanks for a fast and easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I don't like the heat and spice of curry so this was perfect for me! I loved the sweet, creamy sauce with a hint of curry to add a punch. I did not use the curry paste and I only used about 3/4 tsp of curry powder (could up it to 1-1/2 tsp) and would reduce the maple syrup to 2 tbsp, but this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this tonight for dinner, and wow, was it good. You can taste the maple syrup, but it isn't overpowering and provides a complex but light sweetness to balance the curry. I did use mild curry paste though, as I was making it for my family who don't like spicy things. i also had to use whipping cream (35%) because the grocery store didn't carry heavy cream, but it still reduced nicely and thickened up for me. This is definately going to be something I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this! So good! Made just as written, over white rice! So delicious. Well definately put it in my regular rotation! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States