Maple Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My whole family love this including my very fussy 3 year old.... I whispered that there is maple syrup in it and his face lit up. I like to add carrots, sweet potato and some spinach for some veg. and didn't wait to cook the ingredients just threw them all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was good. It definitely had a lot of flavor, but I wouldn't go so far as to call it "Maple" curry chicken. The maple flavor is really lost and really just acts as a sweetner. Heavy cream could probably be substituted for coconut milk. It's not stated in the recipe, but if you use curry paste, I recommend using red curry paste. I think if the maple flavor could have been more prominent it would have really stood out as a unique curry. However, it really was just like any other curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
really wonderful recipe. I have been looking for something like this for awhile. I added 1 more tbls of the curry paste for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was awesome. My whole family loved it. I have been looking for a recipe since trying it at a local restaurant. I replaced the cream with evaporated milk and some corn starch to thicken; cut back on the butter and oil and used light cream cheese. I also did not have paste so just used the curry powder. Even with all these changes, it was really very tasty. I served it on penne noodles with stir fried veggies ( the kids told me they wanted me to make it again. ) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob Manasco
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
A little on the sweet side for my taste, but my kids absolutely adored it; they practically licked their bowls clean. I served over brown rice, and next time will include additional veggies (squash, celery, spinach, whatever).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Manasco
Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I didn't have, nor could I find curry paste, so I used ketchup and curry powder to make my own, per a reviewer suggestion. I had no idea the ratio, so I just added what I thought, which I now forgoet, doh! I feel bad rating it though this way...but it was good. The maple syrup lent a very sweet flavor, but I do think the curry should have shown through more than it did. I have to find that curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Used entire green pepper. Add more veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Needs salt and sriracha. Added sweet potato and cut maple syrup in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
We liked this very much. I used thighs in place of breasts, sour cream in place of cream cheese, and 1T of curry powder in place of paste because that's what I had on hand. The flavors all blended very well. I could see using coconut milk as well in this dish since it has a Thai flair to it. After cooking the chicken in the sauce (why bother cooking it separately?) I removed it and added about 3-4 cups of cooked brown rice I had left over from another meal to the sauce. Then I cooked them together until the sauce thickened slightly and the rice was heated through. Excellent! Adding this to our favorites list. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
If you don't have curry paste you can use curry powder instead plus 3T ketchup of tomato paste. Also you don't need to add each thing and wait a minute. You can just caramelize the onions and add the dry ingredients, then the wet, then add chicken and cook 10 minutes in the sauce and veggie mixture. The meat will absorb the sauce better if it's cooked in it. It will come out more tender as well. If you chop the chicken in strips or chunks you can cook it for 10 minutes and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Florida, USA
Living In: Stanfordville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States