Maple Carrot Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made these for a going away present for my Husbands boss, they flew off the table like hot cakes! I saved one for myself of course and found them equally delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
It's goooood. Though for the frosting I replaced some maple syrup with icing sugar as I was afraid the maple taste might be a bit too much since there's already quite an amount in the cakes. Still fine, subtley mapley and the tartness of the cream cheese still comes through. I made the cupcakes in really small sizes - my cupcake cases were about 5 or 6cm in diameter but the cake still holds together very well in that small size. The cake is moist, soft and spongey, a good texture for something packed with shredded carrots; unlike the crumbly versions you find in stores outside that tend to be on the drier side too. But I feel that the cake could do with a blend of spices with a fuller body. I would add some ground nutmeg and allspice on my next batch. Otherwise a good recipe, thanks to Lisa's Grandmom for the lovely and warm taste of maple syrup and carrot cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made these cupcakes for about 60 people. They came out perfect. I did add a bit more cinnamon and some cloves. I frosted them with a maple butter cream. Fantastic. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Followed the "cupcake" recipe exactly. Definitely would not define these as cupcakes by modern expectations. They are very good, but not sweet at all and definitely fall in the muffin category. I also found the frosting to be disgusting as written. I added a fairly significant amount of powdered sugar and spices (cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg) to make it taste good and have a better consistency. Even with dark amber syrup, the maple flavor was not noticeable. I would recommend adding some maple flavoring if you want that flavor to emerge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
very good. I followed the other reviews and used half brown, half splenda, then half apple sauce, half oil. Just a little healthier version. I added some raisins. Very good and moist, without being super sweet. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
First try was Great. Second was to spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I feel like these needed more spice (cinnamon and nutmeg), and something to make them denser, but overall, pretty good. Skipped on the frosting since we didn't have any of the ingredients on hand, but I don't think they needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Cake was nice and moist but didn't taste much maple. Icing was runny, maybe because of the maple but didn't taste much maple flavor. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've made these as muffins. I replaced sugar with some stevia. They turned out mildly sweet with very carrot-y flavor and great texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States