Maple Carrot Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Moist and delicious. I opted to leave off the frosting (like suggested by other reviewers) and it made a fantastic muffin. I also did half apple sauce and half oil, and half white sugar and half brown sugar. I am adding this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I just made these for the first time, and they are fantastic! I've never liked carrot cake before, but wanted to use up some carrots so thought I'd try something new. I cut the recipe in half, then added slightly more cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and a dash of cloves. For the frosting, I cut used only half the syrup than added a bit of powdered sugar as well. My husband requested cake that isn't 'too sweet' and these were perfect. I'm now a carrot cake convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very Good!! I did alter it a bit for my family. I subed the cup of oil for applesauce, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, used 4 egg whites and 2 yolks, and added some flax seed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
SO moist and delicious. I would have preferred a lil more "spice" flavor. I think i will add cloves to my next batch. I doubled the cinnamon, used 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/2 brown sugar.. i didnt pack the brown sugar so my cupcakes were'nt as sweet which was fine because the frosting made up for the lack of sweetness. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I wish I could give this recipe 4-1/2 stars, the cupcake itself rates a 5, beautiful texture, moist and delicious the best carrot cake I've ever made, the frosting, however is very odd. I made it asd the recipe stated and it was a runny mess that wasnot sweet enough, I added about 3 cups of icing sugar and with the maple syrup it was a little on the sweet side so I added in nutmeg, allspice, cloves and cinnamon to tone down the sweetness. These were a big hit at my mom's Thanksgiving Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wonderful cupcakes! I did not make this particular icing after reading some of the sketchy reviews so I just made a basic cream cheese icing. 1 stick butter at room temp, 1 block cream cheese at room temp, 1 t vanilla, cream together. Add powdered sugar until desired consistency and sweetness is reached. Yummy and great for piping :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etoille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These turned out pretty well. I made a few modifications to make them healthier and omitted the frosting and called them muffins. I used 1/2 splenda 1/2 sugar in place of the sugar and sugar free maple syrup in place of the maple syrup. I also used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil in place of the oil. I used an egg substitute as well to make them vegan. Try this recipe, it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Tasty and easy. For the frosting, I substituted sour cream for butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made these for my kid's first birthday, and they were a big hit. I added sugar to the frosting to make them a little sweeter, but the frosting was still kind of runny...next time I would add flour or something to stiffen it up. These cupcakes are not very sweet on their own, but they're incredibly delicious. I'm going to make them again without the frosting and call them muffins and eat them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've made these as muffins. I replaced sugar with some stevia. They turned out mildly sweet with very carrot-y flavor and great texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States