Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe and stumbled across this. I only had cod, but it worked perfectly. I followed the recipe (almost) exactly. It was spicy and delicious. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NmStutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very yummy and fast. I was worried the maple syrup was going to make it too sweet, but it was well balanced with the Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was definitely spicy for our taste but it was approved to try again so this recipe gets a solid 4 stars. I could see the paste complementing any firm fish such as salmon and I think it would also be good on shrimp. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This syrup mixture is sweet and spicy and delicious! I brushed it over salmon and baked it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is going to be one of my favorite recipes! I loved this and it was so easy to make......not to mention fast which is a must when you have a baby! We have made this twice with two different cajun seasonings....just remember not all brands of cajun seasoning are created equal! We love "Slap Ya Mama" form Louisiana, but also use Zataran's which isn't as spicy. Thank you Janel! This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was good and spicy! I didn't have Cajun seasoning, so I made the "Simple Cajun Seasoning" recipe on this site. Instead of brushing the seasoning on, I threw it in a ziploc with the Mahi Mahi for 5-10 minutes, then cooked it under the broiler. My 6 year old said, this is a 5 star meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I am making this for the second time since Christmas. The flavors definitely draw you back and it is easy to prepare and company worthy. I used the "lite" version of Tony Chachere's as my creole seasoning. It is lite on salt - not on heat! I am making a double batch of the sauce this time so I'll have some extra for rice. I will not double the creole seasoning, however. I like things spicy but it was a kicked up a little high for me. If you are making it for the first time I would advise starting with half of the tablespoon-- you can always add more! This recipe does not disappoint. Thanks for sharing Janell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was a hit in my home even with my 11 year old fish-hating son. I did not have Cajun seasoning so I used Southwest seasoning blend by Pampered Chef. Tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is now my absolute favorite way to cook fish. Other reviewers have said that a lot depends on the cajun seasoning that you use, and it definitely does. My grocery store generic is way too mild for this, so I usually toss in a little cayenne pepper. I don't always like spicy food, but something about the mix of the sweet and the spicy just hits home for me. I definitely recommend this recipe, just remember that a lot depends on which cajun seasoning mix you use. But even with one that's too mild, it will still be good fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This recipe just didn't quite do it for us, although it certainly was easy. I cooked a batch of rice and while that was simmering, I mixed the spices with the syrup. While the fish was cooking, I tossed a spring greens salad with balsamic vinaigrette, which was an excellent complement to the rice and the heat of the fish. Bust the fish wasn't the star it should have been. It was my fist time cooking Mahi Mahi and it seemed a bit bland, despite the Cajun spice. I will give it another try with different fish and see how that works for us. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States