Maple Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This frosting was very good. It had a nice thick, fluffy consistency, and tasted exactly as I had hoped. Most importantly, I found the proportions of sugar to milk to be spot on, so the frosting was neither too stiff not too runny. I am only rating this 4 stars because I found the maple flavor to be a bit lacking. If you left it out though, this is a great base buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
great flavor. best if you let thicken in fridge before frosting anything. More like a glaze consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a great frosting to use on a spice cake. I used it on 'Festive Prune Cake' another AR recipe. I did not have regular cream, but I did have International Delight ™ Caramel Macchiato cream, so I used it. This is a very soft frosting, but so delicious. I think the next time I make this; I will use that flavor of cream again. I can see where this frosting would work on many flavors of cake; spice, banana, butter brickle, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Outstanding!!!!!!! Soooooooo good! Thank u so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
YUM!!! Best ever maple butter frosting!!! I used 1 Tablespoon of maple extract and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, and topped a chocolate fudge brownie recipe with it. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! I used buttermilk instead of cream. Would only need to use 2T as opposed to 3T. VERY GOOD!!! Excellent with the Spice Cake recipe off here too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
As is, its a very sweet frosting that doesn't have much of a maple flavor. Doesn't taste bad but definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
this is excellent on banana pecan cakes but i would adjust the maple according to taste for those who don't care for a strong maple flavor or for those who think it doesn't taste enough like maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used this frosting for cookies I make every year. I will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very nice basic frosting recipe. I used skim milk because I was out of cream and real maple syrup. I needed to use a little extra sugar for consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States