Maple Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
WOW! This is one of the best frostings I have ever tasted! I made it to frost a Maple Nut Cake I made last night(also found on this site) and it was truly divine. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
this is excellent on banana pecan cakes but i would adjust the maple according to taste for those who don't care for a strong maple flavor or for those who think it doesn't taste enough like maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
It's so interesting, after looking over some of the reviews, to see how tastebuds and preferences differ. I'll weigh in here by declaring this frosting too sweet and too maple-y. I added more butter, nearly another quarter cup, and wished I could take out half the maple extract - a quarter teaspoon would have been fine. I used this to frost "Maple Nut Cake," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Excellent! I double the maple flavor, and add a little more powdered sugar to make it stiff enough to pipe and keep the shape of whatever tip you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Quick, easy, and good. The kids loved it. I put it on pumpkin muffins and eight six year olds all had seconds. You can't find a tougher audience than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Delicious!! I added more maple flavoring, and I made extra because its so good on graham crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Wonderful! I used 2 T. half & half for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I made this frosting to go with the Maple Nut Cake, also from this site. It was so delicious that I had to make a second batch, because the first didn't make it onto the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used this frosting for my chocolate cupcakes topped with maple buttercream and crumbled bacon and it was divine! I actually added more maple due to the strong chocolate and bacon flavor and it worked beautifully! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe..no worries about the 1 star rating...they must have not made it right! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
As is, its a very sweet frosting that doesn't have much of a maple flavor. Doesn't taste bad but definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States