Maple-Brined Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent flavor! Make sure that you don't over cook your roast - I put the glaze on at internal temp of 135 and next time I would do that at 125 - and cook to not quite 145. You want the FINAL temp. to be 145, after resting. This is company worthy and very easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by majorcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Terrebonne, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was THE BEST PORK LOIN I have EVER had. I have several pork loin recipes but this is the one that I will use from now on. It was juicy and very tender. I did adjust my time to an hour instead of 40 minutes and then the 15 minutes after the glaze was added. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moulton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Wow! This was great. Served with Chef John's roasted vegetables and BBQ'd corn on the cob. Took advice of others and halved the salt. Used the pan drippings, some white wine and corn starch to make a sauce to pour over carved roast. Family and guests just about finished the whole thing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very good - but I found it just a little salty. I had two roasts, so I doubled the recipe for the brine and maybe that affected it? Might just slightly cut back on the salt next time. I deglazed the pan with a little white wine after browning the roasts and left them to roast in those juices in the oven. Added a little more wine about halfway thru the cooking time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was the best pork loin roast I have ever made bar none. I served it with grilled plums (with a spoon of goat cheese in each), with a drizzle of spicy mango balsamic vinegar, a sprig of rosemary for garnish, (also used a bit of fresh rosemary minced in the brine) and it was incredible. A hit at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My local grocer sells gorgeous whole, DIYB (do it yourself butchering) pork loins--dirt cheap. Until I found Allrecipes (and Chef John), I only had one recipe for this succulent cut. {I put maple syrup over green beans one time--it's delicious on just about anything!} This recipe produces meat with excellent depth and complexity of flavors, without seeming "overthought". Super trendy take on honey mustard sauce soon to become a classic. Thank you, Chef. Also thanks Baking Nana for reminding me that the meat is still cooking after its time in the oven. My only wonder is if you can brine, then freeze the loin, will it turn out the same result after defrosting in the fridge... would the defrost count as brining time even though the meat is not sitting in the brine. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Loupe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Really good! I didn't have real maple syrup; just used the regular maple-flavored stuff I had in the cupboard. I used the stoneware insert from my crockpot to brine the roast and that worked well. Couldn't think of anything else that was deep enough to completely submerge the roast; my roast was three pounds so slightly larger. I used my (new) cast-iron Dutch oven for roasting. I don't have a meat thermometer so I probably ended up leaving the roast in the oven a bit too long, although it was still moist and tender. (I did cover during the last third or so of the roasting time.) I also didn't use the glaze as I wanted a meal-in-one and didn't think the flavors would go all that well with potatoes, carrots, and onions. I will most definitely use this method whenever I cook a pork roast but tweak the seasoning to go with whatever else we're having. The seasoning in this recipe is very good but would have been better had I selected different sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This brine was fantastic! Was feeling "creative" in the kitchen so added some Maldava Coconut sugar as well to the brine. Pork stayed in the brine for 24 hours. Went completely off the grid when it came to cooking the pork. Used a Terra Cotta "roaster" normally used for Whole Chicken (It is soaked in water for at least an hour so the food will not dry out when in the oven). Covered the entire bottom of the roaster in pearl onions, added some maple syrup, quite a bit of maldava coconut sugar (does not taste like coconut), the mustard, salt, dried ginger, fresh rosemary and chopped garlic. Seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, and maple syrup. Placed the pork on top of the onions, packed the coconut sugar on the top of the pork to form a crust. Cooked in the Terra Cotta Chicken Roaster (which is a covered roaster). Once cooked to temperature (always check with a thermometer!), switched the over to broil, took the top off the roaster and put the roast back into the oven so the sugar crust would actually become a crust and caramelize. Let the roast rest uncovered -- did not tent with foil for fear the coconut sugar crust would become soggy. This was fantastic!! This was the most flavorful pork I have ever made -- and am quite certain it was because of the fantastic brine from Chef John -- the combination of flavors was delicious. Thanks, Chef John! I would have never gotten so creative in the kitchen without this recipe! Am making your beef goulash tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was delicious. Even my husband, who is not usually excited by new recipes, said "this is REALLY good!" My dinner guests raved! I will definitely make this again. I needed a larger pork roast (about 4.5 lbs). I increased the brine by 50% so that the entire roast would be covered. I refrigerated overnight, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States