Maple Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I think this recipe is absolutely gorgeous! I couldn't find maple extract so i just used Vanilla and it was absolutely fine. Once I even ran out of maple syrup halfway through and so i filled in the rest with golden syrup and it was still really good. I'm trying it once more with half whole wheat and we'll see how that turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenstarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
After making this I'm not going to use the recipe in my "New York Times" cookbook anymore. The banana bread recipe I was using was more labor intensive (grated orange zest) and it never turned out as good as this one. I used vanilla extract, too. I used a little less baking soda. I got great results, a moist, sweet banana-maple flavor with walnuts, I just made this first thing this morning and fresh from the oven, served warm with coffee -- it was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was an excellent bread--I added walnuts to the batter as I had them left over. I think this recipe would depend on the quality of the Maple syrup and fortunately we have very good syrup in my area
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This turned out great, and I liked that the main sweetner was maple syrup. I did make a couple small changes. I added 1/4 tsp. salt to the flour mixture, and I stirred in a small handful of chopped walnuts to the batter in addition to the walnut topping. And I only used 1 Tbsp. of sugar for the topping and that was plenty. Once the bread was out of the oven and cooled slightly, I took it out of the pan and wrapped it in plastic wrap. This kept the bread moist. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This banana bread recipe is a nice change from the norm. Here in Vermont, we love maple in/on everything, so we particularly like the maple twist. I don't keep maple extract in the house, so I skipped that ingredient. Like one other reviewer, I added a tsp of vanilla and cut back on the baking soda. I have added nuts for texture, but it's good without also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Georgia, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Very tasty and moist! I also substituted vanilla for maple extract and lessened the baking soda. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I couldn't find my loaf pan so I made these into banana muffins. Fill your muffin tins (with liners) only 1/2 way, as they expand! I baked it for about 15 minutes, at the recommended temperature. I also skipped the maple extract (didn't have any on hand) and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla sugar, and cut back a wee bit on the syrup (to compensate for the added sugar). Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I tried this recipe for a different spin on the banana bread I usually bake. What a disappointment! This bread was dry and tasteless. I'll gladly go back to my original banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsysmom
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was just OK, I was a little disappointed. It had a strong baking soda taste to it and was very crumbly. I would definitely make some changes to the recipe for next time, including adding more banana and decreasing the baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made this into muffins and topped with maple icing (from this site). Awesome flavor in the muffins, but with the icing, these are amazing. Definitely a dessert rather than a breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States