Maple Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
AMAZING!!!!! this was so easy to make! My little boy was my assistant and he loved it...not to mention how great my house smelled after it was done. Instead of the maple extract i used vanilla extract... FYI-maple extract was 5 dollars for a tiny bottle!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. Not my favorite banana bread, but tasty. A little bit bitter, and with less body than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My husband and I were disappointed in this recipe. We didn't think it had much flavor and was very crumbly. Also the crumb topping fell off every time you sliced the bread. My just go back to my mom's banana bread recipe and try maple flavoring in that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I had some left over maple syrup left from breakfast and I didn't want to waste it. I added enough to make 1/2 cup. I didn't have any maple extract, so I used vanilla. It didn't have TOO much maple flavor. I made them into muffins for our bnb. They were, "OK," but hubby thought they were pretty good. I've given each guest 1 and they haven't come back. They rose nice and tall, something I have trouble achieving with my muffins. Batter was pretty thick, but in the end, the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this a little healthier by replacing the ap flour with ww and replacing half the butter with applesauce. It turned out delicious. My favourite part was the crunchy topping. I'd make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made this recipe into muffins for Father's Day brunch, and they received rave reviews! The only change I made (since I didn't have any ripe bananas and had to use ones a little on the unripened side, which yielded less of that good banana sweetness) was to add some light brown sugar to my tasting and some chopped pecans. Baked them at 350 for 25 mins. Moist, delicious muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used 100% whole wheat flour, changed the maple extract to 1 tsp. vanilla, and added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is my favorite banana bread recipe. The maple syrup is a natural sweetener that pairs perfectly with bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Although there really wasn't much maple flavor in the finished product, this recipe did result in a lovely, moist and delicious banana bread. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and naturally I was a few tbsp short of maple syrup, so I topped it off with some dark agave and an additional splash of maple flavoring, and used 5 large bananas. It smelled wonderful baking and when the loaves came out of the oven they were a beautiful golden brown. Very nice texture. I actually forgot the sugar and next time will add it because I think it could use a touch more sweetness - even though there was a lot of maple syrup here, the bread is not too sweet at all. Nice recipe! I will definitely add it to our banana bread rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Beautiful flavour, very moist. I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans. Will bake this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I LOVE this, especially because it doesn't have any sugar. I used all whole wheat flour and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States