Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is awesome - we used this on our salad (baby mixed greens and arugula) the past two nights (with pear slices the first night and avocado the second), and my husband is still raving about it! Having read the reviews first, I used equal parts of balsamic and maple syrup, and a little bit less olive oil(proportionately), but kept the mustard (dijon, because that's what we like best), pepper, and a pinch of the salt. I used my mini-food processer to blend everything together, and it has stayed emulsified (yet not thickened, like mayo); don't know if the processer is what did the trick, but the dressing sticks to the greens, rather than sinking to the bottom of the bowl. Thanks for a great recipe! This will be wonderful with winter salads (sugared nuts, goat cheese) ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This Maple Vinaigrette is exactly what I was looking for. A couple of suggestions I would make is to cut the vinaigrette amount down. Plan on at least 1/2 a cup then begin adding to taste. And, DO use REAL Maple Syrup. And I prefer a thick honey mustard (the ones in a jar) over a thinner mustard but that is just my preference. We added Pears, Blue Cheese, Walnuts, and fresh mixed greens. This dressing is the star of a great fall winter salad! This would be good with Apples, goat cheese, pine nuts etc... Great with any fall fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I have such a hard time finding vinaigrette that I like, and this was awesome!! I followed the recipe completely and everyone loved it.I did find out though that the quality of the balsamic can make the difference between being good and being great!! Thank you so much for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was great! I think it tastes like an expensive restaurant's dressing. It would be great with a goat cheese, walnut, cranberries and mixed green salad. I didn't take out the blender, I just whisked it to combine. I also added a tablespoon or so of mayo to give it gloss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I was looking for a balsamic dressing for a salad with cranberries, feta cheese, almonds and red onion. This dressing is perfect. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good - I cut the recipe in half and used REAL maple syrup. Be sure to use a good quality balsamic to ensure good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This has become my salad dressing of choice, though I must say it is perfect for my spinach salad, which we eat more than once a week. When using it on the spinach salad I had a couple pinches (or more) of bacon pieces (bottled kind) and then heat he dressing in the microwave for a few seconds. The only change I make to the original dressing is to add a tad less maple syrup. As a few other readers have said 'using a good balsamic' makes quite a difference. This is without a doubt the best all around salad dressing recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was a fantastic tasting vinaigrette! I adjusted the ingredients to taste. This was a very easy, very flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this with honey mustard and it was a huge hit at a recent dinner party. I used a very good quality balsamic vinegar which I think made a big difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Redmond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I needed a quick salad dressing to take to a barbeque to dress greens. I had made something similar, so tried this recipe and it was a good choice as it was the hit of the gathering. I added dried cranberries and sunflower seeds to the greens, and the salad was great. I made the recipe as directed, just calculated for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States