Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is very good. I threw together a salad of spinach, shallots, craisins and almonds and was looking for a nice vinaigrette to whip up with ingredients I had on hand. This one fit the bill! My only complaint is that it wasn't zippy enough for me, so I added more vinegar. One thing that I should note is that you MUST use pure maple syrup, not the pancake stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This tasted like pancake syrup with vinegar added. I should have taken the advice of another reviewer and added honey. I usually make red wine vinaigrette but was out of red wine vinegar. I'll never run out of it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a wicked good salad dressing! It has the perfect amount of tanginess and sweetness. It's really versatile, too - I've used it on a strawberry spinach salad and a plan vegetable salad and it was great with both of them. I'll be making this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good - I cut the recipe in half and used REAL maple syrup. Be sure to use a good quality balsamic to ensure good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Wow! This one's really good! I used real maple syrup and canola oil instead of olive oil. I just whisked it in a bowl and then shook it up in a jar to finish emulsifying. We won't hesitate to make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
i do not like vinaigrette, but i have had a fabulous maple vinaigrette before, this one is just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This had great starting flavor, but I did add 1 tsp (1 clove) of crushed garlic - then it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This tasted too oily to me as written and the oil drowned out the other flavors. I added more mustard which thickened it up and gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I used good quality ingredients and pure maple syrup. I did reduce the oil to 1/2 cup as it is way too much oil. I used 1/4 t. kosher salt and 1/4 t. black pepper. It really doesn't taste good with maple syrup--it has an "off" taste. With honey, it's easily 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
GREAT dressing! This came together quickly--decided to use this rather than a bottled cranberry walnut vinaigrette... glad I did! Tasted awesome with arugula, chopped pecans, cranberries, sliced apple, and a bit of parm cheese. Wonderful blend of flavors - I recommend mixing lettuce and ingredients to coat and then serving onto plates... much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States