Maple-Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
5 stars for a great idea! Like many others I made a few adjustments to get cookies perfectly suited to our taste. Added an extra 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 T real maple syrup, and increased bacon bits to 1/2 cup and used only 1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chips. I made smaller cookies and ended up with about 5 doz and baked for only 9 mins. Perfect-rave reviews from my work and my BF's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I was disappointed with this recipe. The chocolate chips overpowered the bacon, and there was not enough bacon/not evenly distributed. I WILL try to make it again, only next time I will double the amount of bacon AND chop it finer so it is more evenly distributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Was so good that I got a vegitarian to eat them. She is not a vegitarian anymore! My whole family loved these. I did make some changes. I put in twice the amount of vanilla and maple flavoring, I used less butter (3/4 c.) and added a tablespoon of bacon grease. I also used a whole bag of bittersweet chocolate chips. I also changed the sugar ratio. 1 c. dark brown sugar and 1/2 c. white sugar. This makes the cookies fluffier and they do not spread as much. Lastly, I used a whole package of thick cut brown sugar bacon. GO BACON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.These cookies turned out like sticky, crispy pancakes. Please use at least one extra cup of flour when you try to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I candied the bacon with real maple syrup and brown sugar before I added it in, AMAZING! I also substituted maple syrup, added a bit more flour, and refrigerated the dough over night. Resulted in a super chewy cookie. My favorite so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I added butterscotch chips in place of the maple flavoring and my husband said they were great. Also, if you crisp the bacon and drain it very well, the cookies will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessjoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great recipe! Like a few people on here I candied the bacon with brown sugar, however I used 10 strips chopped and dropped in a small food processor to get them really small. I also found that I was out of chocolate chips and had to use 2 grated baking squares instead. The maple extract isn't my thing so I used a little more maple syrup then it called for and it turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is a good base recipe however I highly recommend you do the following add 1/2 cup of flour (2 1/2 cups of flour total), add 1/2 tsp of baking powder (1 1/2 tsp of baking powder total), add a tablespoon of bacon grease (reduce butter to 3/4 c of butter), and add 1/4 c of bacon (1/2 cup of bacon total). also its really important to have this batter chilled so it doesn't spread when you bake it. my friends LOVED my cookies. i hope this helps people out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So I love this cookie recipe. With a few adjustments they were exactly what cookie should be. Slightly crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. I added 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, this controlled the overspread of the cookie. I also used a lot more bacon and chocolate than called for. Instead of using the maple extract I just smothered the bacon in maple syrup and brown sugar when I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made these while in the mountains for Thanksgiving. I stored them in a glass container on the counter. My husband said he wants them in a jar on the counter every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States