Maple-Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is a good base recipe however I highly recommend you do the following add 1/2 cup of flour (2 1/2 cups of flour total), add 1/2 tsp of baking powder (1 1/2 tsp of baking powder total), add a tablespoon of bacon grease (reduce butter to 3/4 c of butter), and add 1/4 c of bacon (1/2 cup of bacon total). also its really important to have this batter chilled so it doesn't spread when you bake it. my friends LOVED my cookies. i hope this helps people out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Okay, let me first say that the only real issue I had with this recipe didn't involve the bacon! :) It was something like eating a chocolate chip pancake with syrup and a side of bacon. I wasn't put off by it, at all. Just make sure to cook the bacon crisp, crumble and drain well. However, I had to add more flour to this recipe. There isn't a high enough chip/dough ratio as written, to help hold the dough(only I used a mix of white and milk chocolate chips) and my first batch spread so much they LOOKED like the aforementioned pancakes. :) So, I just added another 1/4 cup flour, remixed and refrigerated it for a bit. The rest of the cookies were fine. Even though, as written, these just weren't the right consistency, I'm still giving it a 4 because the flavor which, to be honest, is likely what most folks will question, was good. A very rich cookie with a fun "don't tell them" ingredient. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These were very good. A few changes that I made: First, I candied my bacon. Lay out 5 strips of bacon on a foil-lined cookie sheet (preferably one with sides) and sprinkle with light brown sugar (about 2tsp per piece of bacon.) Bake at 400 degrees, turning once. Once the candied bacon is cool, crumble into bits. Also, I could not find maple extract in my grocery store, so I used pure maple syrup that had been infused with cinnamon. It made the batter delicious! Lastly, I did not have a stand mixer available when I made these, so I made them by hand. I let my butter get extremely soft, then whipped it with a whisk for several minutes until it got very light in color. Then added the other ingredients as called for. There is a high fat to flour ratio in this recipe, especially with the bacon in it (even if you drain the bacon, there will still be a bit of grease that will get in the batter) so these cookies spread out quite a bit and get very flat. Next time I might add a little more flour to try and even out the fat/flour ratio. Overall, a good (and very different!) cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So I love this cookie recipe. With a few adjustments they were exactly what cookie should be. Slightly crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. I added 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, this controlled the overspread of the cookie. I also used a lot more bacon and chocolate than called for. Instead of using the maple extract I just smothered the bacon in maple syrup and brown sugar when I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The only issue with this was that the recipe simply did not call for enough bacon. If you didn't crumble it enough, the bacon bits were few and far apart. I would use equal parts chocolate chips and bacon. :D GO BACON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie Momster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are good as a novelty cookie. The maple extract added a very nice aroma. Although I followed the recipe to the letter, the cookies spread more than my normal recipe for chocolate chip cookies, so I made the rest of the cookies smaller after the first batch was done. I chopped the bacon into bacon bit size. You really could not taste the bacon in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever. Best cookie recipe ever. My friends went nuts over these. The only thing I changed was I used rum extract in place of the maple because I couldn't find maple extract anywhere and I used an entire bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. You might think that would make them too "chippy" but it did not. As a matter of fact, I think anything less that a full bag will leave you a little short in the chip area. Delicious. The best ever. Really, reall great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cheverly, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I added butterscotch chips in place of the maple flavoring and my husband said they were great. Also, if you crisp the bacon and drain it very well, the cookies will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessjoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
OMG!! I got alot of sideways looks offering these but not one complaint. So fun So good. I would go less on the chocolate more on the bacon but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made these while in the mountains for Thanksgiving. I stored them in a glass container on the counter. My husband said he wants them in a jar on the counter every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States