Maple-Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The cookies were yummy but no bacon taste. The dough however had nice bacon/maple flavor with the crunch of the bits. Once cooked, that flavor and the crunch disappeared. Probably won't make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I really enjoy this cookie! I agree with the comments about more bacon...I used just over 1/2 c. and it's still not enough! I think next time I will use equal parts chocolate chip cookie and bacon. I actually rubbed the bacon down with brown sugar before I put it in the oven. I cooked it too long and some of it burned slightly, but I think the crisp actually is better in the cookie. Also, I didn't use as much butter--about 3/4 c. then I tossed in a bit of the bacon grease...I didn't measure it, but it was probably something like 1.5 tablespoons. I also added more flour and a bit more baking powder in hopes they would rise a bit more--again, no measurements. They still didn't rise as much as I would have liked. I also pressed a bit of bacon on the top after I tried the first batch and decided it wasn't bacon-y enough. All in all, I would give it a 5 star rating when I add more bacon and figure out how to make them rise more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The only issue with this was that the recipe simply did not call for enough bacon. If you didn't crumble it enough, the bacon bits were few and far apart. I would use equal parts chocolate chips and bacon. :D GO BACON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These are good, but there really isn't much bacon flavor which is what i was hoping for. I might try them again and either put more bacon, or perhaps bacon on top. The actual cookie part wasn't the greatest either. I don't mean to sound completely negative. The idea is great and the maple extract was an excellent addition. If I do try these again, I'll tweak them a bit, but I appreciate the discovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
OMG!! I got alot of sideways looks offering these but not one complaint. So fun So good. I would go less on the chocolate more on the bacon but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm so glad that I decided to try this recipe! I am NOT a fan of bacon but I was very intrigued so I just went for it. The cookies turned out great. The only alteration was that I used a full bag of chocolate chips. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever. Best cookie recipe ever. My friends went nuts over these. The only thing I changed was I used rum extract in place of the maple because I couldn't find maple extract anywhere and I used an entire bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. You might think that would make them too "chippy" but it did not. As a matter of fact, I think anything less that a full bag will leave you a little short in the chip area. Delicious. The best ever. Really, reall great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cheverly, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LissyC
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I thought these were absolutely delicious. My husband and son just gobbled them up. I think even when I want plain ol' chocolate chips recipe I will just omit the bacon, that's how much I love the flavor! Some cookies had bacon, some didn't, but I really did enjoy the flavor surprise. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These were very good. A few changes that I made: First, I candied my bacon. Lay out 5 strips of bacon on a foil-lined cookie sheet (preferably one with sides) and sprinkle with light brown sugar (about 2tsp per piece of bacon.) Bake at 400 degrees, turning once. Once the candied bacon is cool, crumble into bits. Also, I could not find maple extract in my grocery store, so I used pure maple syrup that had been infused with cinnamon. It made the batter delicious! Lastly, I did not have a stand mixer available when I made these, so I made them by hand. I let my butter get extremely soft, then whipped it with a whisk for several minutes until it got very light in color. Then added the other ingredients as called for. There is a high fat to flour ratio in this recipe, especially with the bacon in it (even if you drain the bacon, there will still be a bit of grease that will get in the batter) so these cookies spread out quite a bit and get very flat. Next time I might add a little more flour to try and even out the fat/flour ratio. Overall, a good (and very different!) cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
A great combination of meat and dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States